Presenting the Last Two Portobello Mushroom Caps from the Pack of Four – Portobello Mushroom and Red Bell Pepper Combo – Colorful and Tasty – Learning as I Go Along –

Portobello Mushrooms servedThis is an easy dish to prepare. Simply cut up the Portobello Mushrooms and thinly slice the Red Bell Pepper.

Heat Olive Oil in a skillet and fry the pepper slices on medium high, tossing constantly for about two minutes. Reduce the heat to medium low. Keep turning them as they slowly cook until soft and slightly brown on the edges. Scoop them out of the skillet and set them aside.

Red Bell Peppers SlicedRed Bell Peppers CookingRed Bell Peppers CookedThere is a reason I didn’t cook the mushrooms and peppers together. I wanted the pepper slices to caramelize so they would have a sweet flavor similar to the taste of a roasted pepper. After caramelizing the peppers, I set them aside and cooked the mushrooms in the same pan. Mushrooms release fluid when they begin cooking, which would have caused the peppers to get mushy.

Portobellos choppedPortobellos cookingI added two cloves of minced garlic to the pan of mushrooms. I waited to add the garlic until after the mushrooms were cooking. I don’t put garlic alone in hot oil, because it burns easily and may become bitter. I cooked the mushrooms until they released their moisture and continued cooking them until they were tender and blackish from the underside of the mushroom spreading its color throughout.

Portobello Mushrooms servedNext, I tossed the bell peppers and the Portobello mushrooms together in a serving dish and added a splash of Balsamic vinegar. You may prefer to season with salt and pepper instead.

We enjoyed this dish twice, because there was enough left for another meal. It will be a while before we buy a package of four huge Portobello mushroom caps again. We have dined on mushrooms slices with cheese melted on them, Portobello mushroom soup, which I served as a side for two meals, and now this delightful dish of mushrooms and peppers. Enough is enough!

I am a learning cook gaining knowledge and experience as I go along. Don’t be afraid to correct me or pass on cooking tips or techniques of your own. I would like to hear about your favorite recipes, too.

 

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Presenting the Last Two Portobello Mushroom Caps from the Pack of Four – Portobello Mushroom and Red Bell Pepper Combo – Colorful and Tasty – Learning as I Go Along –

  1. Laura Best says:

    I love Portobello mushrooms. I sometimes put pizza toppings on them and bake them. Mmmmm.

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

