Barren Floors – Weeds Shooting for the Stars in the Yard – My Hubby Working Very Hard to Finish Demolition before Surgery – We Go Out to Eat Again Today – Kitchen Temporarily Unfit for Cooking – Praying for Steve’s Hip to Heal Completely –

Demolition 3My energizer-bunny hubby looks frazzled like this cactus after working longer hours than usual trying to finish demolition of the hallway and kitchen tile before his surgery date.

I’m not comfortable with cement dust assaulting his lungs as he scrapes and shoots it into the air. Every surface is covered with finely-crushed gray dust.

I wish my husband did not have to inhale these dust particles so close to his hip operation. I suggest that he postpone it a few weeks. I try not to harp at him, but it flows naturally from me like water over Niagara Falls.

DemolitionDemolition 2This is the kitchen floor after Steve has scraped off all the quick-set cement particles that once held the tiles to the floor.  The kitchen is unusable until tomorrow. On the bright side, we have good reason to go out to lunch again today. We choose Olive Garden this time.

During our lunch Steve tells me he will do his best to finish the job ahead of time leaving himself five to seven days to detox from the dust before going to the hospital. This is good news to me, so I WILL be quiet now.

Demolition 4Outside in the yard as we gaze at the sunshine and flora, we discover that weeds have sucked up the little rain we had, turning it into growing power. I cannot resist taking a photo of this cactus that looks gleeful and green after those few drops of water fell from the sky to bless it. Life is good.

We and our friends continue to pray together for complete healing of my hubby’s hip before the date of surgery, August 19. Our meeting last night was encouraging. Three people we prayed for two weeks ago were feeling much better. It was good to see one of them back at the meeting. Her smile and good humor were refreshing. She’d been suffering a long time. She was excited, laughing, and praising her husband for caring for her while she was sick. God is good.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Memoir, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Barren Floors – Weeds Shooting for the Stars in the Yard – My Hubby Working Very Hard to Finish Demolition before Surgery – We Go Out to Eat Again Today – Kitchen Temporarily Unfit for Cooking – Praying for Steve’s Hip to Heal Completely –

  1. pattisj says:

    Did you find something good you could eat at Olive Garden? I would be concerned about inhaling all that dust, too. Blessings!

    Like

    • Yes, they have several choices on a gluten-free menu separate from their regular menu. I had rotini pomodoro, a marinara sauce over pasta with shrimp and a Caesar salad without croutons. It was delicious.

      I feel much better about the dust since he will have several days to get rid of the effects.

      Blessings to you, too…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

