Luxury Defined – Beauty – Convenience – New Appliances – Ample Living Space – Bath and a Half – All This in a Winnebago Journey Motor Home – Almost but Not Quite – Will Extreme Adventure Make the Difference for Us – We Think Yes –

Notice the bag I carry. I'm already limiting myself to a restricted environment.

Notice the small bag I carry sitting on the counter. I’m already limiting myself to a restricted environment.

Steve is a stickler on preparation. His idea to photograph every inch of storage space in our intended RV is helping us determine intelligently what to take along and where in the coach to store those articles we deem important. I would like to take along all the photo albums that depict my life experiences throughout the years. This could require at least two boxes. The storage bins below the coach RVers call the basement. Cute, ha? The basement is not anything like the basement in a stationary home. The RV lifestyle is a magnified adventure accomplished in a shrunken space. I may have to rethink the photo album plan. I may have to ask younger members of my family to hold onto most of them. I remember when I was given a box of photos of prior generations to have and to hold. I don’t know what happened to them. I somehow failed to safely retain them.

Storage Space 2 Storage Space 3 Storage Space 4 Storage Space 5

The luxury of having space to spread out our stuff as we do in our present stick-and-stucco home will be profoundly diminished for us when we begin living the RV lifestyle. Many treasures packed away in closets, cupboards, walk-in storage areas, and cabinets must be sold or discarded before we leave here and begin our adventure. The change may be so pronounced in our situation that it may feel like deprivation.

Existing as a couple in such a limited area may redefine togetherness from an attitude to an art performed within a lean measurement of square feet. As life is now in our home we eat together, talk together, play pool together in our game room, and watch TV together. This is generally speaking the extent of our daily enjoyment of togetherness. We often spend time alone in different rooms. I may be reading a book in the living room while Steve could be working on his computer. I may be cooking or cleaning the kitchen while Steve could be outside working on the yard. We have been instructed by authors writing about their experiences living in an RV that people need some solitude and must learn how to fulfill this need in a space-limited environment. We have been assured that it is possible.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Memoir and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Luxury Defined – Beauty – Convenience – New Appliances – Ample Living Space – Bath and a Half – All This in a Winnebago Journey Motor Home – Almost but Not Quite – Will Extreme Adventure Make the Difference for Us – We Think Yes –

  1. Wishing you wonders in your travels.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. pattisj says:

    Very smart to have a plan of use for the valuable little space you’ll have.

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

