My Father Owns the Cattle on a Thousand Hills – I Said to Him – Oh – I Didn’t Know that – Was his Reply – My Heavenly Father Owns the World and Its Fullness – Why Should I Worry – Because of Jesus We Have Hope –

Grazing Cattle

I’ve lived through a chapter of my life when provision was slim. Most of the time I felt safe in the arms of the Lord knowing that we would have enough. Sometimes I worried, but something always turned up to fill a need when there seemed to be no way. Life was simple in those days. A lot of material wealth complicates life; yet, I’d rather have complication than poverty. I’m sure you would, also. I never felt that we lived in real poverty. We had enough. Some would have judged otherwise and said we didn’t have enough. I won’t argue. Life was difficult at times. I would have liked having more.

Gradually in my Christian walk I learned that the Lord provides what we ask for and what we need. There is enough in His storehouse to go around. I only needed to ask. I know that might seem ridiculous to many people. There was a day when it seemed ridiculous to me, too. But it is true. God is able to give us more than enough. Sometimes we don’t have what we need because we don’t ask Him; sometimes we ask for the wrong thing, and God gives us what we need instead.

The birth, life, death, and resurrection of our Savior Jesus not only saved us from sin’s condemnation and gave us eternal life, as though that were not enough, His completed work on the cross broke the chains of bondage, the curse of poverty, gave us healing, provision, and many other blessings. Praises to the name of Jesus, our Lord and Savior.

I don’t remember the exact circumstances of this conversation, but it had to do with a lack of money. Someone asked me how I was going to survive with the financial problem in front of me. I replied, “My Father owns the cattle on a thousand hills.” This person was someone who didn’t know me well. He said, “Oh, I didn’t know that.” He thought I meant my earthly father was rich, a cattle rancher, no doubt. I explained that I referred to my Heavenly Father, and he gave me one of those looks people give when they think you are being silly. But it was not silly. Worry is a waste of time. Believing God’s promises and trusting Him to be faithful and true is worthwhile. God is good.

____________

Psalms 50:10-12 – The Bible (KJV) – For every beast of the forest is mine, and the cattle upon a thousand hills. I know all the fowls of the mountains: and the wild beasts of the field are mine. If I were hungry, I would not tell thee: for the world is mine, and the fulness thereof.

Matthew 6:25-26 – The Bible (KJV) – Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment? Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they?

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses, Memoir, Thought and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Father Owns the Cattle on a Thousand Hills – I Said to Him – Oh – I Didn’t Know that – Was his Reply – My Heavenly Father Owns the World and Its Fullness – Why Should I Worry – Because of Jesus We Have Hope –

  1. elizabeth says:

    Silly person, giving you a silly look! How silly was he? LOL I bet he went away mulling over what you said and then the Holy Spirit chit-chatted with him a while. 🙂

    Like

    • I think people have to learn this for themselves. Believing and receiving what you pray for has its own reward. It was fun thinking of my earthly father as a cattle rancher, if for only a moment. Ha! Blessings to you, Elizabeth…

      Like

  2. I’d rather own the hills than the cows.

    Like

  3. Gloryteller says:

    “that might seem ridiculous to many people”
    The message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing.
    If they would only take a time-out from perishing, hear the Message as their salvation, not foolishness, we would SO rejoice with and for them.
    Thanks for another great post, Carol Ann.

    Like

  4. pattisj says:

    That verse has stuck with me through the years, too. It’s so poetic.

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

