I’m Glad to Help with Gardening – The Work Is Overwhelming until We Get Caught Up – I’m Not Used to Being This Busy – Steve Never Slows Down – He Hated Waiting for His Hip to Heal So He Could Start Back to Work – Gardening Is Temporary Work for Me – SMILE – I Can’t Wait to Take It Easy Again –

Gardening

There he is trimming the Blue Fan Palm again. After he spent three hours on the palm, he cut up the Little John bush the cactus killed as it crashed to the ground. Multiplication is Steve’s best mathematical skill. He multiplies his doctor’s orders by three each day. If one hour is allowed, three is better. I guess that’s how it goes. As soon as he finished the outside work, he came inside and began the flooring project again.

Gardening 2My part of the gardening work today was trimming another Yucca bush. I thought it looked fine without being trimmed. It had very tall stalks shooting upward. They looked like Christmas tree decorations. (I should have taken a photo of it before I cut them off.) I could picture the beautiful baubles and beads draped over a Christmas tree, if the stems were not so stiff. Steve says they were flowers. Flowers? Brown flowers? With balls and little ornaments? Arizona desert plants are strange compared with the kind I was used to seeing in Ohio, Michigan, Tennessee, Florida, and Texas. Arizona is a mystery. I keep learning more about it as life happens here in this arid southwestern state of the USA.

Now Steve is painting. What happened to flooring? Go figure. I am mesmerized by the boundless energy that makes this guy of mine sprint from one job to another nonstop. (He has corrected me. He is not painting; he is plastering.) Steve is a blessing to me. God is good.

About Carol Ann Ritchey

Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Memoir and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m Glad to Help with Gardening – The Work Is Overwhelming until We Get Caught Up – I’m Not Used to Being This Busy – Steve Never Slows Down – He Hated Waiting for His Hip to Heal So He Could Start Back to Work – Gardening Is Temporary Work for Me – SMILE – I Can’t Wait to Take It Easy Again –

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    Good to have someone like that in your life.

    Like

  2. Tanveer Rauf says:

    So good and comforting to know you have such a caring soul with you. inspiring initiator and lively Steve and you being so concerned about him 🙂

    Like

  3. pattisj says:

    Your days are busy, not unlike how they were in Texas, only now you get to sleep–and work outside. 😉

    Like

    • Yes, I am blessed to have a life after Texas. I wish I’d known what I have learned recently. I wonder if Johannes could have been healed of Alzheimer’s and that awful stroke. I prayed for his healing now and then, but I think I didn’t really expect it to happen. He was 90 years old when he went to be with the Lord.

      If Johannes knows what I just wrote, he might be thanking God that he is where he is now and glad not to have been required to live another ten or twenty years on earth. God is good. I am blessed to have Steve.

      I read this story in a book about miracle healing and raising people from the dead (can’t remember which book). A man who was involved in healing and miracles lost his wife. She died, but he wouldn’t let the undertaker have the body. He kept praying for her to be raised from the dead. Finally, she opened her eyes and said, “What are you doing? I’m in Heaven with Jesus. You’ll get over it. Let me go.” And he did. Humorous, but purportedly true. I’m laughing again as I type this.

      Blessings to you, Patti…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...