Let Me See Through the Eye of Faith

Looking through my finite eye
On a troubled world
I see
Bleakness
Desolation
Despair

Looking through your infinite eye
I see
Glittering
A lively universe
Cuddled securely in the palm
Of Your hand

Father in Heaven keep me
From tunnel vision
Let me see
Always by faith
Believing
You are here
In control
Of my world
Your world
Our world
Amen

By Carol Ann Hoel © January 17, 2011

_______________________________

Psalm 24 – The earth is the LORD’s, and everything in it, the world, and all who live in it; for he founded it on the seas and established it on the waters.

Who may ascend the mountain of the LORD? Who may stand in his holy place? The one who has clean hands and a pure heart, who does not trust in an idol or swear by a false god. They will receive blessing from the LORD and vindication from God their Savior. Such is the generation of those who seek him, who seek your face, God of Jacob.

Lift up your heads, you gates; be lifted up, you ancient doors, that the King of glory may come in. Who is this King of glory? The LORD strong and mighty, the LORD mighty in battle. Lift up your heads, you gates; lift them up, you ancient doors, that the King of glory may come in. Who is he, this King of glory? The LORD Almighty—he is the King of glory.

About Carol Ann Ritchey

Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Let Me See Through the Eye of Faith

  1. flyinggma says:

    Thank you for directing my eyes, thoughts, and vision back to where they should be this morning Carol. Blessings on your day, Jeanne

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by to read. I appreciate it. It is so easy to look at the mess the world is in and worry. I do it and then when He turns my eyes back, as you say, where they should be, my heart sings. In some ways the contrast makes the sweetness even better. Blessings to you on your day, too, Jeanne…

      Like

  2. Tekia says:

    wonderful post. one of my favorite passages on faith is Hebrews 11:1 and 3. be blessed dear 🙂 XX

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by, Te’Kia, and for your comment. I love the whole chapter of Hebrew 11. Verses 1-3 are great. Verse one is a good definition of faith. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Blessings to you, also…

      Like

  3. Pingback: Let Me See Through the Eye of Faith (via Cah4el’s Blog) « Duke1959's Blog

  4. suzicate says:

    It’s a good feeling not to have to be in control to only have to trust…nice poem.

    Like

  5. Chloe says:

    Another loveley poem – I especially like these words and the mesaage that they convey:
    “A lively universe
    Cuddled securely in the palm
    Of Your hand”

    Thank you!! 😀 xx
    Chloe xx

    Like

  6. buttercup600 says:

    So much meaning to me…thank you my friend. Sending you love and hugs xoxox

    Like

  7. jacsprat says:

    I love the last few lines “in control of my world, your world, our world.” That’s what the kingdom of God is all about- living and loving God competely, creating a world where God can live and we can too!

    Like

  8. Carol Ann, this is a wonderful poem, and also a timely reminder for me as I struggle with some overwhelming personal concerns. Thank you for sharing your poetry and God’s word with us.

    Like

    • Thank you for this encouraging comment. By writing poetry I encourage myself when I feel overwhelmed, and I always hope that my verses will uplift the spirits of those that read them. May the LORD turn your challenges into victories. Blessings to you…

      Like

  9. lbdiamond says:

    Thanks, Carol Ann for this lovely poem today! I’ve been waiting on something very important and can’t “see” how it’ll turn out. It’s good to know God is in charge…I need to remind myself of this more often. Thank you for reminding me! 😀

    Like

  10. Lovely, Carol Ann. “Cuddled securely in the palm of Your hand” reminds me of the song, “On Eagle’s Wings” where the lyrics conclude, “… and hold you in the palm of his hand.” It’s so reassuring, and important for us to remember.

    Like

    • Thank you, Carol. I found the song “On Eagles Wings” on YouTube through Google. It’s beautiful. I thought I might know it if I heard it, but I’ve never heard it before. The lyrics included a lot of the Psalms, and the words were very comforting. Thank you for your comment. Blessings to you…

      Like

  11. elizabethre says:

    Carol Ann, I love coming by and reading your poetry. It is always beautiful and
    loaded with truth.

    Like

  12. Isn’t it quite something that sometimes He lets us see through His eyes and we ‘get it’ and at other times it seems no matter how hard we try, we just can’t quite seem to find those lenses.

    Like

    • You are right. There are times when things look dismal to me. After I roll in the muddy depths of sorrow for a while, God sweeps away the clouds and shows me how silly I am to fret. I feel foolish and exhilarated at the same time. Blessings to you, Zoe…

      Like

  13. trisha says:

    This is divine carol! a piece of pure heavenly bliss. what a blessed realization it is to know that we are fully secured in God’s loving arms.

    Like

    • Good morning, Trisha. What a pleasure to open up to your sweet comment. I agree with you. What a great God! Not only are we loved, but our God, Jehovah Nissi, LORD of hosts, is able to protect us and keep us safe as well. Blessings to you this day, my dear friend…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...