LORD – Oh LORD

LORD – oh LORD –
What You gonna do –
The earth is groanin
And the people too

The ice is meltin
The ozone’s thinnin –
This old globe
Needs a new beginnin –

LORD – oh LORD –
What You gonna do –
The earth is groanin
And the people too

Poor people starve
Yet rich folks chew –
Many folks worry
‘Bout what to do –

LORD – oh LORD –
What You gonna do –
The earth is groanin
And the people too

Me – LORD – I’m
Just askin You –
LORD – oh LORD
What You gonna do

I’ve already said
What I’m gonna do –
T’won’t be long ‘til
I come for you

By Carol Ann Hoel © March 31, 2012

____________________________________

 

 

Luke 21:28 – The Bible (KJV) – And when these things begin to come to pass, then look up, and lift up your heads; for your redemption draweth nigh.

 

2Peter 3:9-10 – The Bible (KJV) – The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance. But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night…

 

1 Peter 3:15 – The Bible (KJV) – But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asks you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear…

 

Romans 8:22 – The Bible (KJV) – For we know that the whole creation groans and travails in pain together until now.

 

Exodus 2:24 – The Bible – (KJV) – God heard their groaning, and God remembered his covenant with Abraham, with Isaac, and with Jacob.

 

Exodus 6:5 – The Bible – (KJV) – And I have also heard the groaning of the children of Israel, whom the Egyptians keep in bondage; and I have remembered my covenant.

 

Psalm 102:5-7 – The Bible (KJV) -By reason of the voice of my groaning my bones cleave to my skin. I am like a pelican of the wilderness: I am like an owl of the desert. I watch, and am as a sparrow alone upon the house top.

 

Psalm 102:16-22 – The Bible (KJV) – When the LORD shall build up Zion, he shall appear in his glory. He will regard the prayer of the destitute, and not despise their prayer. This shall be written for the generation to come: and the people which shall be created shall praise the LORD. For he hath looked down from the height of his sanctuary; from heaven did the LORD behold the earth; to hear the groaning of the prisoner; to loose those that are appointed to death; to declare the name of the LORD in Zion, and his praise in Jerusalem; when the people are gathered together, and the kingdoms, to serve the LORD.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to LORD – Oh LORD

  1. Needs to be set to music. Rock or ballad would work. I think repeated refrain use is very effected. Portrayal of earth fitting. I can’t believe how many people think global warming is a hoax.

    Like

  2. I like this poem, Carol Ann, and the Bible verses, too. It’s a good reminder that God’s plans are coming to fruition, and we need to be ready to account for what we’ve done with our lives.

    Like

  3. elizabeth says:

    I love it! It has an upbeat to it while conveying an encouraging message. Well done! 🙂

    Like

  4. elizabeth says:

    I meant to say, Though it is a groan… 🙂

    Like

  5. Patricia says:

    Love it, Carol Ann. Sounds like a song of slaves.

    Like

  6. ansuyo says:

    Awesome:) Definately does sound like a song. Angie

    Like

  7. pattisj says:

    And we’re a-waitin’ for Him! 🙂 Blessings to you!

    Like

  8. I hope God is planning something, like giving a bit of wisdom to greedy people who are causing these catastrophies.

    Like

    • Humans can mess up anything but God’s plans. Thank goodness for that. Our Sovereign God is in control. Blessings to you, Trisha…

      Like

      • I too keep my fingers crossed and pray to God that God wont give up on earth, its living beings.

        Like

      • Isaiah 49:14-16 – The Bible (New Living Translation) –

        Yet Jerusalem says, “The Lord has deserted us; the Lord has forgotten us.”

        “Never! Can a mother forget her nursing child? Can she feel no love for the child she has borne? But even if that were possible, I would not forget you! See, I have written your name on the palms of my hands.”

        The LORD JESUS will never give up on us, Trisha. His promises in the Bible are all true. Blessings to you…

        Like

      • I dont believe that God has forgotten us either, its human beings that scare me. sometimes they play Devil in the name of playing God.

        Like

  9. gloryteller says:

    Your SONG is absolutely brilliant, Carol Ann! I can hear the old earth “groanin'” as we sing to the Lord. I actually have a “ministry of groaning” I’ll tell you about sometime. This could be the theme song – “The Groanin’ Song”. Thanks, Sister.

    Like

    • I’d like to hear about your “ministry of groaning”. That makes me think of Romans 8:26 – The Bible – “Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit himself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.”

      Thanks for your kind words, Len. I appreciate your visit and comment. Blessings to you…

      Like

      • gloryteller says:

        I should make a post, shouldn’t I. Our Abba CLEARLY suggested it one Sunday in church when I was in mourning for a dear friend. In praying for her husband in the very back row of the balcony where it was relatively quiet, I cried out to Him. What do I do with this compassion I have for this man in terrible pain? I’m out of tears and out of words to say, Father. I’m just at a loss……… His three word answer (I get a lot of those) came immediately and with Holy Clarity : GROAN FOR HIM !!! So I did. I groaned out loud, focusing on my love and compassion for my friends, during the worship music and then silently after the music ended. It is kind of like praying in tongues without the tongues (and arguably much simpler). I got the most confident impression that the H.S. was translating my earnest, heartfelt groanings into meaningful and useful words of intercession. Then, I was given the “peace that passeth all understanding”. And yes, later I found Romans 8:26 and other verses pertaining to “groaning”. I’ve used it ever since – so much that it became a mission and a personal ministry.

        Like

      • What a wonderful way to pray for people when words are not enough. It is the ministry of the Holy Spirit in us to translate such deep feelings into words of intercession before the Father. Thank you for sharing this with me. Blessings to you, Len…

        Like

  10. Great post, Carol Ann. You are so creative!! May God bless you and Johannes in a special way on Easter Sunday.

    Like

  11. fivecats says:

    Many, many blessings to you and your Johannes on this Easter Day, when all things are made new. Happy, Happy Easter!

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

