Loving God Waits for Latter Rain

James 5:7-8 – The Bible (KJV) – Be patient therefore, brethren, unto the coming of the Lord. Behold, the husbandman waits for the precious fruit of the earth, and hath long patience for it, until he receive the early and latter rain. Be ye also patient; establish your hearts: for the coming of the Lord draws nigh.
2 Peter 3:9 – The Bible (KJV) – The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is long suffering toward us, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.
2 Peter 3:13 – The Bible (KJV) – Nevertheless we, according to his promise, look for new heavens and a new earth, wherein dwells righteousness.

About Carol Ann Ritchey

Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Loving God Waits for Latter Rain

  1. trisha says:

    amen. so beautiful and true.

    Like

  2. pattisj says:

    How many times do we think we are waiting on God, when in fact, He is waiting on US? Great scriptures, Carol.

    Like

  3. Love the scripture! There are several translations and paraphrases that I use in my Bible studies. I especially like this one from the Message, on this particular part of James (5:7-8):

    “7 Meanwhile, friends, wait patiently for the Master’s Arrival. You see farmers do this all the time, waiting for their valuable crops to mature, patiently letting the rain do its slow but sure work. 8 Be patient like that. Stay steady and strong. The Master could arrive at any time.”

    love that. . .”patiently letting the rain do its slow but sure work. . .” I hope I CAN learn to be patient like that! 😀

    Happy day, Carol!

    Like

    • Thank you for the passage as written in the Message. Lovely. Very up-to-date language. I, too, like to switch from one translation or paraphrase to the other to compare them. Thank you for stopping by and for your enlightening comment. Blessings to you, Paula…

      Like

  4. lbdiamond says:

    Gotta keep practicing patience, for sure! Thanks for the reminder, Carol Ann.

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by, Laura, and for your comment. Patience is a difficult issue for me. I’m more patient today than I was in my youth. That’s about the best I can attest to. 🙂 Blessings to you…

      Like

  5. I’ve always loved the Biblical reference to rain refreshing the earth, the whole idea of “see, I’m doing something new.” How true!

    Like

    • Yes, how true. Rain refreshes the earth. And His mercies are fresh every morning like rain. I think of cleansing and nurturing, when I hear rain falling. I like your idea: “See, I’m doing something new.” Our God of new beginnings issues fresh starts, one after another. Thank you for stopping by and for your comment. Blessings to you, Victoria…

      Like

  6. planejaner says:

    It’s beautiful in the KJV–I am an NIV and The Message lover…

    God gives us such beautiful words.

    blessings
    jane

    Like

    • His Word is light. I never tire of it. Thank you for stopping by and for your comment.

      I like NIV, too. I must begin in KJV, where my memory serves me. After I find my verses in KJV, sometimes I’ll switch to NIV for clarity. KJV is more poetic, I think. The Message is a paraphrase. I like it, too. I start in KJV and then move around and compare. If I’m tired, I may not move from KJV. The Message is one of my choices at biblegateway.com, where I search for verses. I’ll have to begin looking in The Message, too. Blessings to you, Jane…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...