Thank you for A New Day

Father thank you for yesterday
A dismal day of queasiness and vertigo
There is nothing like the sweet blessing
Of a sick day to fill one’s heart with true gratitude
For a new day

Father thank you that yesterday
Was no worse than an ordinary sick day
I thank you for time spent doing little and
Thinking much about how life changes and wishing
For a new day

Father thank you for teaching me
To value highly and protect more fiercely
My good health knowing how poor health could hinder
Achievement of my hopes and so much of my delight
In a new day

By Carol Ann Hoel © February 19, 2011

_________________________________________

Psalm 50:14-15 – The Bible – Offer unto God thanksgiving; and pay thy vows unto the most High: And call upon me in the day of trouble: I will deliver thee, and thou shalt glorify me.

Proverbs 3:5-12 – The Bible – Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD and shun evil. This will bring health to your body and nourishment to your bones.

Honor the LORD with your wealth, with the first fruits of all your crops; then your barns will be filled to overflowing, and your vats will brim over with new wine.

My son, do not despise the LORD’s discipline, and do not resent his rebuke, because the LORD disciplines those he loves, as a father the son he delights in.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Thank you for A New Day

  1. nrhatch says:

    Every day is a new day filled with infinite possibilities.

    Have a good one! 😀

    Like

  2. Keli Gwyn says:

    Carol Ann, I’m sorry you were sick. I hope you’ve evicted that pesky bug.

    Like

    • I hope it’s gone forever, but it comes back from time to time for little seasons, always an old unwelcome intruder. Thank you for your condolences and well wishes. Blessings to you, too, Keli…

      Like

  3. planejaner says:

    Carol Ann–
    our health…it’s so important! The sick days really bring it into light.
    I hope you are feeling better today!
    sending you a cup of tea and a hug–
    jane

    Like

    • Thank you, Jane, for the well wish, the cup of tea and the hug. They may be virtual, but I can redeem them like coupons. I’ll make that cup of tea to go with our shepherd pie and collect that hug from my hubby. Well wishes are not really virtual. They are as real as any blessing. May your day be a joy. I appreciate your taking time to stop by and comment. Blessings always…

      Like

  4. Laura Best says:

    Thank you is something we all need to say more often. Never a day goes by that I do not say a silent thank you for something in my life. 🙂

    Like

  5. jannatwrites says:

    There’s nothing like a sick day, or a really bad day, to make us appreciate the other days that are otherwise ordinary.

    Hope you are better 🙂

    Like

    • You are right about that. I really enjoyed the next day for my attitude of gratitude. I woke up the next morning feeling fine. I praise God for my health. Thank you for stopping by and for your comment. Blessings to you, Janna…

      Like

  6. Gratitude makes for happiness. Lovely poem. Perfect symmetry – in more than one way.

    Like

    • Thank you for your encouraging comment, Jamie. I thought I was grateful before, but the day after the vertigo event I found myself ecstatic with praise and thankfulness. Thank you for stopping by. Blessings always…

      Like

  7. Chloe says:

    We so often take our health for granted don’t we? I like the attitude of praise you are still able to maintain though, despite feeling ill, and I hope you are feeling much better soon.

    Blessings to you Carol xx

    Like

    • I am feeling fine now. The next day the vertigo was gone. Yes, we do take our good health for granted. I thought a lot about people that battle health conditions much worse than mine, and I prayed for them. I want to keep them on my mind and continually pray for their healing. How blessed I was to be back to myself the next day. Thank you for stopping by and for your kind comment. Blessing to you, Chloe…

      Like

  8. trisha says:

    you are such an angel carol. we have so much to be grateful to God even during our darkest days.

    love.
    trisha

    Like

  9. flyinggma says:

    Hope you are feeling better. There is nothing like a few days of not feeling well to appreciate the days you do. Blessings Carol, Jeanne

    Like

    • I am feeling fine, Jeanne. Thank you for the well wish. My enjoyment of the day after was accentuated with delight and joy at the sweet feeling of health. Thank you for stopping and for your comment. Blessings to you…

      Like

  10. pattisj says:

    I’m so glad your illness passed quickly, and that you’re feeling better. Thank you for stopping by my blog today, and taking the time to leave a comment. I’m learning that is a rarity, so sad.

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

