On the Road in Iowa – Didn’t Really Want to Go There – Winnebago Tour – A Man Thing from My Perspective – One of Our Best Trips – The Tour Was Okay – But the Stay There Was Fabulous –

iowa-road

The second half of our trip revealed that I booked too much time on the first half. I did. I could see this fact as I attempted to book the second half. Rather than starting over, canceling, planning, and booking again, I went forward.

Steve wanted to visit Iowa for the opportunity to tour Winnebago Industries in Forest City, Iowa, an activity that didn’t interest me very much, even less so when I had few days to book parks and many miles to cover to get us back to our winter campground. Steve wouldn’t budge, so I booked five days in Clear Lake, Iowa, not far from Forest City.

Only five days. We really enjoyed our stay in Clear Lake, Iowa, all five days. It was difficult to squeeze in the tour, but we did. We dined at The Landing Patio Bar and Grill at South Shore Inn located only five minutes from our campsite. Our table was situated under a canopy, so we were sheltered from the sun yet seated in the open air. The view was spectacular and the gentle breeze just cool enough to make the atmosphere pleasant.

The Landing was large and very crowded. I prefer not to invade the privacy of others by including them in photos. I chose instead to snap this isolated part of the restaurant that was cordoned off.

the-landingIs that scene not beautiful to behold? I couldn’t keep my eyes off the water, the boats, and the several activities going on out there on the lake.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Memoir and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Road in Iowa – Didn’t Really Want to Go There – Winnebago Tour – A Man Thing from My Perspective – One of Our Best Trips – The Tour Was Okay – But the Stay There Was Fabulous –

  1. Gloryteller says:

    Interesting! I hail from Ioway and it has hailed on me many times. I’ve spent time in Clear Lake and Forest City. I’m glad you enjoyed camping there. It’s good to see your nice photos of my home state.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for stopping by, Len. We are wintering in Arizona and will begin our 2017 tour in mid-April. Iowa is a beautiful state. My home state is Ohio, also a northern state where it snows. We were glad that Iowa was one of our stops on our way to Arizona, our winter abode. I read that you are thinking about a Class B RV. We stayed in 35 parks in the six months of our travels. We loved it. I know you will enjoy it, also, if you decide to give it a try. Blessings to you, Gloryteller…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

