There It Lay – On the Floor in Plain Sight – The Missing Piece – Sought for Patiently for Many Days – A Small Miracle – One that May Seem Insignificant – But It Keeps Me Knowing that the Lord Hears Us Even Concerning Our Little Matters –

Puzzle Piece

We knew what it should look like, the shape, the colors, but we couldn’t find it anywhere. We looked for days. Certainly a gust of wind could blow a puzzle piece in a screen room, but how could it blow out of the room? This assumption kept us ever vigilant, constantly looking for the hidden piece. We laughed together at how disappointed we would be to finish the entire puzzle only to have one piece missing from the yellow bird. You are wondering where it was. I opened the door to the screen room. Immediately I spotted the missing piece. It was upside down underneath a lawn chair that was next to the table, a place we both had checked out many times. Wouldn’t it be funny, I thought, if this were the missing piece, but I doubted as I bent over to pick it up. Black, yellow, white! Little touch of green! Just like we knew it should look, and there it was. I can’t wait to tell Steve when he gets home from his meeting with the neighborhood watch.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Humor, Memoir and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to There It Lay – On the Floor in Plain Sight – The Missing Piece – Sought for Patiently for Many Days – A Small Miracle – One that May Seem Insignificant – But It Keeps Me Knowing that the Lord Hears Us Even Concerning Our Little Matters –

  1. Patricia says:

    Sort of like life. We look everywhere for the one thing we need when it is in front of us waiting to be seen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • How true. This little piece had to be in the screen room. How it got where it was when I found it, I cannot say. But I know it had to be in that room somewhere. Maybe a gust of wind dislodged it from the place it was hiding. Blessings to you, Patricia…

      Like

  2. Never buy a puzzle at a thrift shop…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Maxi says:

    Hmm, the forest for the trees kinda thing?
    blessings ~ maxi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly, but it wasn’t in the spot I found it when we first began looking. Something had hidden it until something else, like a gust of wind, jiggled it out of its hiding spot into the plain view place we found it. Hide and seek.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Laura Best says:

    I’ve had a few puzzles given to me with missing pieces so I like to buy new. I usually only do puzzles during the winter months. I never sit for long but like to take a moment or two when I walk past. I’m hoping to have the one I’m working on now done before Easter, when little fingers will be arriving for the day. Wouldn’t want to end up losing any pieces. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • You do it like my family used to do it: Walk by and stop for a moment to find a piece and then move on. A puzzle may take a few months that way. We are wondering if ours will take too long. We find only a few pieces a day as we stop in the screen room and spend only a short time. We are leaving soon, so we must step it up a bit. Have an enjoyable Easter with those precious ones with the little fingers.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. pattisj says:

    Aha! The elusive piece appears!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! We found it. We have had a lot of wind, but it never blew our puzzle apart inside the screen room on the card table. Last night the wind blew really hard and whooshed our puzzle apart. Alas! Steve is patient. He is trying to piece it back together so we may continue. I’m ready to put it back in the box. Blessings to you…

      Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts...

