Are We Having Fun Yet – ALMOST – Getting Online Has Been Difficult – Typing without My Right Hand Even More Difficult – Oh – Did I Mention that I Broke My Wrist – Notice the Blue Skies of South Dakota – America the Beautiful Shines in SD –

image

South Dakota was lovely and not cold when we arrived. The Black Hills peeked at us from the horizon shown in the background of this photo. We were in the Rapid City area about a week and will return sometime to complete unfinished business.

I slipped and fell when we were nearly finished moving from our home. My right wrist twisted as the weight of my body landed hard on it. I hoped it would not be broken, but it was. I was able to move my fingers and turn my wrist slightly convincing me that it was only a sprain. Twenty-four hours later the swelling had increased and my forearm had changed to black and blue. My hand seemed crooked at the end of my arm, so Steve took me to an urgent care center. The kind doctor and other medical staff took x-rays and wrapped a soft cast all the way up my arm and past my elbow. I made an appointment with an orthopedic in South Dakota to check out my progress and apply a hard cast, as the urgent care physician said would be needed. My cast is huge and the color is hot pink at Steve’s request. Really.

I am thankful that this injury has given me almost no pain. The swelling was bad and a bump to the affected area during the first day hurt for a moment. I used an ice pack the first two days to bring down the swelling. For the most part, I have suffered only some discomfort and a lot of inconvenience. Pain meds were made available for me but I did not need them. The bag from the pharmacy remains unopened. God is good. I know this came not from the Lord but from the enemy. My wrist is healing and I’m experiencing the kindness my heavenly Father shows His children in times of trouble.

I hope to be online again soon. We purchased a motor home! Everything that sounded simple when we planned our adventure became complicated by the time all the details presented themselves. We shall prevail by the grace of God. Details like swarms of ants cannot stop us.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Memoir and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Are We Having Fun Yet – ALMOST – Getting Online Has Been Difficult – Typing without My Right Hand Even More Difficult – Oh – Did I Mention that I Broke My Wrist – Notice the Blue Skies of South Dakota – America the Beautiful Shines in SD –

  1. pattisj says:

    I’ve been thinking about you, wondering “where in the world is Carol Ann!” I see you’re still in South Dakota. I don’t know that I’ve ever seen photos of SD, except for Mount Rushmore. That sky is blue! Glad your wrist isn’t causing a lot of discomfort. Coastal storm here this weekend. Most of the Neptune Festival events were cancelled. The sand sculptures are done, protected by a large tent for a few days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I remember reading your comment in my email. Life has been challenging as far as getting online is concerned. I couldn’t get online at the time I saw your comment, and then I forgot. We are no longer in South Dakota, but we will have to go back. Sorry to hear the storm cancelled your fun. We did not spend extra time to see Mount Rushmore. Maybe next time. Thanks for thinking of me. I’ve thought of you many times. Blessings to you…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia says:

    Sorry to hear about your fall. Good to know it hasn’t stopped the forward motion of your plans.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry I missed responding to your comment. I thought I was on top of things, but, alas, I was not. I have an appointment to get the cast removed in a week. I can’t wait. Blessings to you, Patricia…

      Like

  3. Maxi says:

    For goodness sake Carol Ann, there you were havin’ all that fun movin’ and along comes Murphy. You know, the one from “Murphy’s Law.” He’s always with us.

    Thanks for sharing. Glad you’re not in too much pain. I’m on a working vacation myself.
    Be well soon.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts...

