Roses in Water – Lovely They Appear – After Picked and Packed – Handled and Set Aside without Water – Gifted and Carried in the Arizona Sun – Yet They Beautify – They Remind Me that God is Good –

Roses 2

Three couples, including Steve and me, dined at the Hilton for Mother’s Day. (This is not a Mother’s Day post, but these were Mother’s Day roses.) One rose was presented to each woman as she entered the door. There were many tables. The food was good, and the service, excellent.

Since I was the only mother in our group, the other ladies opted to give me their roses. I laid them on a shelf next to our table. Another rose had been abandoned there, so when we left, four roses were mine to take home. They were droopy and ragged when we left the Hilton.

RosesI had only water; no nourishing potions did I possess to add to the vase to revive these beauties. Yet see how they perked up. Four days later they remain lovely (the photo above), their petals having spread as they aged. I know they will finally wilt, but….

There is much in the world that is unlovely, tainted, or bruised. These roses remind me that there is also beauty that endures. There is Jesus. He endures forever, and he has made everything beautiful in its time. I trust Him. I don’t fully understand all there is to know, but I believe the Lord is faithful and true. He is training me to understand more. I want to learn it all.

___________________________

Ecclesiastes 3:11 – The Bible (NIV) –  He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses, Memoir, Thought and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts...

