Chicken Thighs – Dipped in Gluten-Free Crumbs – Made with Crunchmaster Rice Crackers – Roasted in Convection Oven – Yes – I’m Learning This – One Recipe at a Time –

Chicken Thighs Rice Crackers

Huge chicken thighs from Costco dipped in mayonnaise and crushed rice crackers presented a challenge for me today. I would have baked them at 375 F in a conventional oven, but I was truly bold and increased the temperature to 425 F using the roast setting. Okay. What was I thinking?

Chicken Thighs Rice Crackers 3Generally the temperature setting from conventional to convection heat should be decreased. I roasted the thighs for 40 minutes, pulled out the dish, and took a peek. I found the meat not quite done, needing about 7 more minutes, but the meat had already browned. I turned the heat down to 375 F. on the bake setting and hoped for the best.

The chicken thighs were crispy, moist, and perfectly done. Ah. Life is good. However, I will work on this recipe. Next time I will try 400 F on the roast setting, which is hotter than the bake setting, and the fan constantly circulating the air makes the meat brown evenly and quickly. If I were to use smaller chicken thighs, they would cook faster. Do you think so? Steve likes to buy all our meats at Costco. Hmm. Costco meat and poultry are good, but their chicken thighs are giant. So be it.

Chicken Thighs Rice Crackers 2I am finding gluten-free rice cracker crumbs a good replacement for wheat bread crumbs. I’ve used them in several recipes. Crunchmaster Rice Crackers (also from Costco) make a crisp and tasty breading. I add Italian Seasoning, black pepper, and a dash of cayenne pepper to the crumbs. Use your own favorite spices instead. Be creative and enjoy cooking.

 

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Cooking Techniques and Shortcuts, Food, Gluten-free and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken Thighs – Dipped in Gluten-Free Crumbs – Made with Crunchmaster Rice Crackers – Roasted in Convection Oven – Yes – I’m Learning This – One Recipe at a Time –

  1. I usually boil them to rid of fat and then brown ’em up in olive with touch of garlic , pinch of organo and hint of course ground pepper. Serve with lime juice drops. Mushrooms a tasty addition

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sounds delicious with the garlic and oregano, and lime juice drops! Exquisite. Yes, Mushrooms add wonderful flavor, too. I think you like to cook, Carl. Your dad enjoys the benefit of it, I bet. Blessings to you…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

