My Husband – My Biggest Fan – My Best Friend – What Does He Say About My Book – Buddy for David – What He Said Was What I Loved to Hear –

Steve 2

“This book should be a movie.”

These were the words of my husband after reading Buddy for David. Steve had never read a novel in his life until this one. I felt flattered that he genuinely liked the story that came out of my heart, and, finally, after 19 years, found its way to print.

So what did Steve read if not exciting, macho fiction? It won’t surprise you. Instructional books about technical matters. As a result of his hard-won educational success, Steve became a stationary engineer and a refrigeration engineer, licensed to operate power plants or any other enterprises requiring his expertise.

I asked Steve what he liked most about Buddy for David, when he read it, besides that it should be a movie. His answer was this:

It was easy to read and fast paced, a story about a young boy, kidnapped, that found comfort in a dog. Even though the dog was aloof, it was the boy’s hope and an unseen threat to his captors.

As I wrote this story, I had a movie in mind for it, each chapter becoming another scene. I cut out unnecessary chatter always with the intent of providing action-packed and exciting episodes, one after another. When Steve said it should be a movie, I laughed and happily agreed.

Buddy for David Book Jacket

Walk with this family, mom, dad, sister, and grandmother, as they struggle with the disappearance of young David. Engage in the terror of a kidnapped child and cheer at the unexpected appearance of a huge, white dog. Sympathize with law enforcement officers as they strive to find and rescue David.

Buddy for David is available in paperback and e-book form online at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Buddy for David, Memoir, Promotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Husband – My Biggest Fan – My Best Friend – What Does He Say About My Book – Buddy for David – What He Said Was What I Loved to Hear –

  1. Nandini says:

    That is so sweet. And congratulations on your book :-).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia says:

    When will you start the screen play? 🙂

    Like

  3. Laura Best says:

    I think it’s wonderful that Steve is so supportive of your work! Having the support of our spouses gives us the opportunity to explore our creative endeavors which means we don’t have to feel guilty about the time we spend writing. It’s all good. 🙂 It must be so rewarding for you to hold your book in your hands after nineteen years. So glad you pursued this. I’m sure you are too!

    Like

    • Yes, I’m glad I kept “Buddy for David” in a drawer to find it years later. The first draft was complete. I only needed to polish and smooth it into form before seeking a publisher. I very much appreciate my husband’s support. Thank you for your kind words. Blessings to you, Laura…

      Like

  4. Maxi says:

    Congratulations! All the best, Carol Ann.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts...

