I Will Sing of the Mercies of The Lord Forever – with My Mouth Will I Make Known Your Faithfulness to All Generations – Psalm 89:1 – The Psalmist Penned These Words During a Time of Trouble – He Reminded God of His Promises – We Have Even Better Promises than His Generation – God Is Faithful – We May Remind Him – And He Will Hear Us – And He Will Deliver Us –

 

Dove in skyIf you would like to read all of Psalm 89, you will see at the end of it how sad and troubled the writer was when he wrote it. He reminded the Lord of the Covenant He had made with David. He recounts the Lord’s great reputation and kindness, but at the end he presents the bleak situation his nation was enduring at the time. He spills out his heart full of sorrow and asks the Lord, where are your former loving-kindnesses that you swore to David in your truth? How long Lord? How long will you hide yourself?

Psalm 34:19 says –  Many are the afflictions of the righteous: but the Lord delivers him out of them all.

Isaiah 54:17 says – No weapon that is formed against you shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against you in judgment you shall condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is of me, says the Lord.

God preserved the lineage of David as He promised. Jesus, the descendant of David, our Savior, came to save Israel and the entire world from sin, sickness, and poverty. He is our salvation, our righteousness, our health, and our provision. In Christ, we have even better promises than Old Testament believers.

Jesus said to his disciples just before they were about to be terrified and scattered, just before His crucifixion:

John 16:33 – These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.

I’ve lived through many difficulties and sorrow in my lifetime and I’ve learned this:

Trouble is temporary. It seems long, and sometimes by our standards, it is long, but it is temporary. God is faithful. Don’t give up. He will save your day. When I was hurting, I felt extremely sad and discouraged at times, so I assume that others may feel the same. Your breakthrough will come. God loves you more than you can comprehend. Keep expecting a miracle. Miracles happen to those who wait and believe. Blessings to you…

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses, Memoir, Thought and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Will Sing of the Mercies of The Lord Forever – with My Mouth Will I Make Known Your Faithfulness to All Generations – Psalm 89:1 – The Psalmist Penned These Words During a Time of Trouble – He Reminded God of His Promises – We Have Even Better Promises than His Generation – God Is Faithful – We May Remind Him – And He Will Hear Us – And He Will Deliver Us –

  1. jannatwrites says:

    This is good to remember. Sometimes trouble does seem to last so long.

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

