Asian Fried Rice – My Version – Flavored with S&B Japanese Traditional Seasoning – Compliments of My Japanese Friend – This Spice Blend Made My Fried Rice Special –

 

Fried Rice 3Asian fried rice is a fabulous dish and is simple to prepare. I have my own recipe that contains the same basic ingredients each time. There is one difference today, the addition of a spice mixture, S&B Nanami Togarashi, that my Japanese friend presented to me as a gift at Christmas. What did I know about this spice? Nothing except that the fragrance from the bottle was very good. I looked for it on the Web and found this image of the small bottle with Japanese writing on it. The description of ingredients in English I much appreciated.

JaJapanese spicepanese traditional seasoning with a blend of 7 spices including red chili pepper as a main ingredient. S&B Assorted Chili Pepper features the rich aroma and color of a balanced blend of red chili pepper, orange peel, black sesame, white sesame, Japanese pepper, ginger, seaweed.

Asian Fried Rice – my own homemade version:

2-1/2 – 3-1/2 cups cooked rice (I used Jasmine but use any kind.)
1/4 – 1/3 pound ground sausage or beef or cut up sausage links
1/3 cup chopped onion
1/3 cup chopped celery
1/3 cup chopped carrot
1 – 2 Tablespoons chopped fresh ginger
2 – 3 Cloves of garlic minced
1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
1 Tablespoon Butter – (Or just use Oil alone)
S&B Nanami Togarashi – Sprinkle to taste
(If you don’t have S&B, sprinkle red pepper to taste.)
1 Egg
Soy Sauce to taste (I used gluten-free soy sauce)
Fish sauce – a splash for that Asian flavor (Optional)

Cook the meat in a skillet or wok and set aside. Toss the chopped onions and fresh ginger in a combination of hot olive oil and butter until onions are translucent. Add celery, carrots, and minced garlic. Toss in the wok or skillet with the onion and ginger until just crisp-tender, not mushy. Set aside.

Fry the cooked rice in the wok or skillet, which should be oily; add oil if needed, not too much, a very thin coat. Fry for a few minutes. Clear a space in the middle of the wok or skillet and crack the egg into the empty space. Stir until the egg is cooked. Toss the cooked egg into the rice until well mixed. Add the set-aside meat and vegetables. Toss with the rice.

Sprinkle the S&B spice onto the rice and mix it in. If you don’t have S&B, use red pepper. The dish will be as hot as you make it with the S&B spice or red pepper. Be careful if you are not used to hot dishes. Add soy sauce to taste. Add a splash of fish sauce (optional). Taste. Add salt, pepper, or whatever you think it might need. Serve and enjoy.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Cooking Techniques and Shortcuts, Food, Gluten-free and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Asian Fried Rice – My Version – Flavored with S&B Japanese Traditional Seasoning – Compliments of My Japanese Friend – This Spice Blend Made My Fried Rice Special –

  1. It comes out better if you turn your stove around to the east.

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

