Week of Social Events and Obligations Hindering Posting Time – Wallflower Learning to Relax and Interact in Social Settings – How Will It Happen – One Event – One Experience – One Step at a Time –

Children Holding Hands on School Playground

All my life as far back as I can remember, I’ve been shy and uncomfortable in social environments. I like people; yet, I am mostly quiet in a group setting. Has this changed? Have I found a new comfort zone?

After I lost my husband to Alzheimer’s disease, I prayed for a new husband. God answered my prayer, and eight months later, Steve and I met and married. My life has changed drastically. Steve is an outgoing, friendly person and has a large group of friends that socialize together all the time. I think it is correct to say that Steve is a partying man. Am I a partying woman? Becoming one…. Little by little…. Learning…. One step at a time….

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Memoir and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Week of Social Events and Obligations Hindering Posting Time – Wallflower Learning to Relax and Interact in Social Settings – How Will It Happen – One Event – One Experience – One Step at a Time –

  1. lesliepaints says:

    I know this. I, too, feel uncomfortable in large crowds unless I have a purpose to be there, view a concert, watch a ballgame, mingle at an art opening. Maybe that is not what you are referring to. I like spending a large amount of time alone, reading, painting, drawing. Sometimes I think wallflower is such a negative term for choosing to spend time alone or with a few. You will do fine, me thinks!

    Like

    • I, too, feel comfortable if I am sitting with a crowd as a spectator or even performing some function such as an employee. It is social interaction that makes me uncomfortable. I like reading, writing, and spending time just thinking or meditating. I wonder what a wallflower looks like. Is there really a plant called a wallflower? Thanks for stopping by. Blessings to you, Leslie…

      Like

  2. pattisj says:

    I’m like you, Carol Ann, reading, writing, and such. Not a conversationalist, for sure.

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

