Scorpion Visit – Not the First Occurrence – But the First to Frighten Me – I Know – I’m a Sissy – Steve Killed it for Me – He Is So Sweet –

Scorpion

This is my third confrontation with a scorpion.

My first scorpion sighting was the one in the photo you see. I suggested that it may have been under the influence of pest control, because it didn’t move. Steve explained that it was only playing dead, but as soon as we would draw near enough, it would strike. This defeated enemy wrangled with death for a few moments after Steve struck it, and that was it. Off to the toilet. Not too scary.

The second scorpion was waiting for me in our bedroom. I thought it was dead, but it was alive. This was shortly after Steve’s hip replacement operation, so I felt I needed to deal with it myself. The scorpion was clinging to the door frame in a stance as still as death, so I excused myself from its presence to get the fly swatter. The bug was not very large, after all, and I thought it was dead, but as I struck it, it came to life again. It fell off the door frame onto the floor twisting and attempting to run. I struck it again, scooped it up with the fly swatter, plunged it into the toilet and flushed. Done. Not too scary.

The scorpion last night struck panic in me! As I was brushing my teeth in the bathroom off the bedroom, I could see a huge scorpion lurking behind my wire toothbrush stand. It saw me, too! This one did not freeze frame like the other two. This one charged toward me with amazing speed and agility! Yikes! I did what most women do in such a circumstance. I screamed! Three times! Steve came running, as all heroes do. He knocked it onto the floor and killed it with the handle of his hairbrush. Dead. Forever. Flushed! Steve is SO wonderful. Ah. Life is good.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Humor, Memoir and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Scorpion Visit – Not the First Occurrence – But the First to Frighten Me – I Know – I’m a Sissy – Steve Killed it for Me – He Is So Sweet –

  1. pattisj says:

    Yikes! One must be very brave to live out there! Nice work, both you and Steve.

    Like

  2. Maxi says:

    Omg Carol Ann, not once but three frights with a scorpion. No doubt you were terrified. Thank goodness you had your wonderful Steve to the rescue.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  3. jannatwrites says:

    I’m glad you’re safe – scorpions are scary. We lived in an apartment in Phoenix that had them (they like to hide in shoes, so check them before slipping your feet in 🙂 ) I found one outside here and I stabbed it with a shovel until it was in pieces. You might need an exterminator (or a visit to the Bug & Weed Store, where they have super heavy-duty pesticides that will kill anything!)

    Like

    • Ya think? We actually have a pest control guy that visits regularly, but we have an outside system. He comes inside occasionally, and we plan to invite him in again. Maybe the harsh monsoon rain is responsible for this last visit by scorpion.

      I can see you in my imagination whacking that scorpion with a shovel like one of the characters in your short fiction tales. “Take that, you evil bug!”

      Thanks for stopping by. Blessings to you, Janna…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

