I Am Learning – Seeing Some Scripture from a Different Perspective – Holy Spirit Says Yes – Yes to Promises of God – Yes to His Desire to Bless People – Yes to Healing – No to Sickness – Yes to Prosperity – No to Poverty – Yes to Grace – No to Condemnation – Some Clarification to Prevent Misunderstanding –

MP900438611

During my season as caregiver to my late husband, from the time Alzheimer’s disease attacked him until he went to be with The Lord, I was  unable to attend church services. I listened online to my own church and many other Bible preachers. I’ve been a Bible enthusiast for many years.

I gained new understanding of some scripture verses during those months. For instance, I had been taught that some verses in the New Testament were no longer efficacious to us. I have since learned that these instructions are as meaningful and effective today as ever. Such verses say that Christians should be going about telling the gospel, teaching the Word, healing people, casting out demons, and raising the dead. That’s a tall order, but it was issued because people needed to be encouraged to believe in Jesus. God still wants people to believe. He is still willing to help people believe today just as in the beginning days of His church. Signs and wonders were and are meant to encourage people to believe in Jesus.

I learned from preacher Joseph Prince about law and grace and how the tenets of law and grace should not be mixed. While the Old Testament scripture is of great value, the Covenant of Law is obsolete. That doesn’t mean that the commandments are wrong. They are pure and right. But they can no longer bring condemnation to a believer whose sin has been eternally forgiven through trusting in the finished work of Christ on the cross. New Covenant believers are eternally forgiven. The burden of keeping the law, which we all fall short of doing, is not a requirement for salvation under grace. We need only trust in Jesus. He fulfilled the law for us. He is our Lord and our salvation.

I do my best to write the truth about God’s love, telling that God doesn’t punish us for sins His son already suffered and paid for. I write that God doesn’t bring sickness or poverty into our lives, that He is willing for all people to be saved, to be healed, and to prosper, and that God loves all people and wants all people to believe in Jesus, our Savior and Lord.

Sometimes I say so much about God’s goodness that people may think I believe God is not against sin. Of course, God is against sin, because He loves us, and sin destroys the ones He loves. Sin is evil and dangerous. Sin, and sin will hurt you. Sin will destroy what matters to you most and will bring you misery.

If sin has messed up your life, don’t give up. God will help you. There is hope for anyone whose life has been damaged by the evil one. Those who have trusted Jesus to save them from their mess know the pure and patient love of Christ. We can testify that victory is available. Believe and be encouraged. You may have lost a battle or two, or many, but you can win the war, through Jesus, the captain of our salvation.

P.S. Believers cannot lose their salvation. This we may rely upon for good reason. God saves, seals, keeps, and delivers all that trust in the name of Jesus. The Father holds us securely in His hand.

______________________

Matthew 10:7-8 – The Bible (KJV) – And as ye go, preach, saying, The kingdom of heaven is at hand. Heal the sick, cleanse the lepers, raise the dead, cast out devils: freely ye have received, freely give.

John 10:27-30 – The Bible (KJV) – My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand. I and my Father are one.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Bible Verses, Thought and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Am Learning – Seeing Some Scripture from a Different Perspective – Holy Spirit Says Yes – Yes to Promises of God – Yes to His Desire to Bless People – Yes to Healing – No to Sickness – Yes to Prosperity – No to Poverty – Yes to Grace – No to Condemnation – Some Clarification to Prevent Misunderstanding –

  1. telling that God doesn’t punish us for sins

    This statement aside for discussion, at the 12 step meetings people often state they feel God is testing them. I think the Job story has a lot of negatives because I think it’s message is to retain faith throughout all ordeals ,not that it is a matter of testing. God does not test but evil will test us every moment.

    Like

    • I agree with you, Carl. God does not tempt anyone with evil. If we are tempted to sin, we are tempted by evil, the evil one, or his emissaries, unrelenting assaults sometimes. In Job, we know that God approved Job, and in the end blessed him outrageously after his tribulation, and told him to pray for his friends, who unintentionally rubbed salt into his wounds rather than comforting him.

      You stand in the place of Job. Expect blessings from our dear Savior and Lord. God loves you and wants to lavish blessings on you. Say yes (amen, so be it) and receive…

      Like

    • Indeed, many, many blessings multiplied God gives us all. I think none of us would survive life on this earth without His constant blessing. God is good. We are loved and lavished with His blessing all the time. Still, we are given the privilege of sending one another even more blessing from the Lord. We bless one another and the Lord stands behind it. That’s what I believe. Blessings to you, Carl…

      Like

  2. The issue i see with some believers is that they would rather focus on the issue of sin instead of the glory of God. The sin in our lives has already been addressed through the blood of Jesus. Jesus died not only for salvation but that we may enjoy those blessings you spoke of. I find your message to be clear. Some people may not see it clearly because of their own blurred vision. Peace to you!

    Like

  3. jannatwrites says:

    I don’t think it’s by accident that your experience gave you further insight into scripture. I agree that the Bible applies just as much today as it did back then.

    Like

    • Yes, all things that applied to first believers applies to us. Life has become more exciting than ever since I’ve learned of additional blessings Jesus has provided for us through His death and resurrection. Thanks for stopping by and for your comment. Blessings to you, Janna…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

