Stuffed Meatloaf – Biscuits Made Good Stuffing for Meatloaf – I Had Fun Making This Meatloaf Different than the One Before –

Stuffed Meatloaf 4Last night I baked biscuits using gluten-free flour. Today I used the leftover biscuits to make stuffing. I baked the stuffing inside the meatloaf, so I’m calling it stuffed meatloaf.

BiscuitI took the two biscuits I had left. One of them was this beautiful biscuit you see. The other was the biscuit made from the scraps of dough.

(Do you use the dough scraps to make more biscuits or do you toss away the scraps? I carefully gathered the scraps and tenderly patted them into another round of biscuit dough. I cut out one imperfect biscuit, but I still had more scraps, which I made into a truly ugly biscuit.)

I crumbled the truly ugly biscuit and the beautiful biscuit. I used a little of the crumbs for meatloaf and the rest of the crumbs for stuffing.

Stuffed Meatloaf 1I chopped onion and celery and added some of the onion to the ground beef and the rest I added to the crumbs I had set aside for the stuffing.

I added spices to the meatloaf, oregano and basil, salt, pepper, one egg, and Worcestershire sauce. I mixed it all together and patted half of the meat into the meatloaf pan, building up the sides a little to make a space to tuck in the stuffing.

Stuffed Meatloaf 2I melted about 1/4 cup of butter in a sauce pan and added the rest of the chopped onion and all of the chopped celery. I simmered them in the butter at a medium low heat until the onions were translucent.

Then, I added spices to the stuffing, rosemary, sage, parsley, onion powder, salt, and pepper and stirred them together. Then I added the contents of the saucepan to the mixture, stirring them into the stuffing. The stuffing needed about 1-1/2 eggs, so I added one whole egg and the yolk of another egg to the stuffing. I tossed the white of the second egg into the meatloaf. (I hate throwing food away, but sometimes one must, but not this time.) I wanted the stuffing to be just moist with the egg, not too sloppy.

Stuffed Meatloaf 3After mixing the stuffing ingredients well, I poured it into the space I had made in the meatloaf. Next, I covered the stuffing with the rest of the ground beef meatloaf mixture. I baked it at 350 degrees about 45 minutes.

My stuffed meatloaf turned out very well, indeed. If it hadn’t, I would have wished I’d baked the meatloaf in one pan and the stuffing in another. I could have done that but it would not have been as much fun.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Cooking Techniques and Shortcuts, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stuffed Meatloaf – Biscuits Made Good Stuffing for Meatloaf – I Had Fun Making This Meatloaf Different than the One Before –

  1. Maxi says:

    Yummy Carol, I’m tastin’ the meatloaf…
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

