Biscuits – Jules All-purpose Gluten-free flour – Substituted for Wheat Flour – Recipe Development in Progress – Canned Biscuits Cannot Compare with Homemade Biscuits – Steve Ate His with Peanut Butter and Peach Jelly – Interesting – Butter and Honey for Me – I’m So Predictable –

Biscuit

I’m a carbohydrate-loving woman. Alas! My downfall from being thin and wispy. Yet, I keep dieting in between my carbohydrate delights.

Life without wheat gluten is bearable if it doesn’t mean life totally without bread, pancakes, noodles, and biscuits. I am thriving. Notice that I did not include cakes or pastries, which are filled with sugar. These I make a sincere effort to avoid. Zucchini bread was delicious, but it contained a huge amount of sugar. I will not bake another one for a long time. Too much sugar is scarier than too many carbohydrates. However, too many carbohydrates can imitate the effects of too much sugar, so even though I like carbohydrates, I intend not to overindulge in them.

I admire those who completely subtract carbs from their diets to stay healthy and trim. I’m not one of them. YET. Maybe never. Maybe soon.

In the meantime, I am enjoying this biscuit!

 

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Cooking Techniques and Shortcuts, Food, Memoir and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Biscuits – Jules All-purpose Gluten-free flour – Substituted for Wheat Flour – Recipe Development in Progress – Canned Biscuits Cannot Compare with Homemade Biscuits – Steve Ate His with Peanut Butter and Peach Jelly – Interesting – Butter and Honey for Me – I’m So Predictable –

  1. becca givens says:

    I could give up bread if I must!” with the exception of biscuits. Gotta have my biscuits — just butter … although, if worse came to worse — I wouldn’t even need the butter!! 😀 Your photo looks good —

    Like

  2. jannatwrites says:

    I love carbs, too. For the last few months, we’ve been restricting carbs and sugars, which has been hard. The weight loss does make it a little easier (though I couldn’t pass up eating a slice of pizza at a birthday party on Saturday 🙂 )

    Like

    • Yes, I lose weight easily with carbs out of my diet. But sooner or later I will indulge. I’ve read that carbs are addictive. I think I just like them. I’m addicted to whatever I like. I’m not addicted to broccoli and I don’t miss it if I don’t have it. I do eat broccoli. It’s a nutritious food. I’m just sayin’. I could live happily without eating broccoli, but I would miss carbs. Congrats on losing weight. I’m jealous! But am I jealous enough to stop eating carbs? I wish…

      Like

  3. pattisj says:

    Bring me one, and I’ll share some elderberry jelly with you. 🙂

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

