Trip to the Surgeon to Learn about Hip Replacement – Enlightening – Interesting – Scary to Me – What Isn’t Scary to Me – Steve Is Expecting to Get Back to Normal Soon – What Does He Call Normal – Back to the Golf Course –

Back to NormalI am encouraged after our trip to the doctor to talk about the ensuing hip replacement, which isn’t far off. The appointed day is Tuesday, August 19, 2014. Steve expects this operation to enable him to get back to normal. I made sure the doctor knew that normal for Steve is wild and wooly compared to most men his age. The doc said that I don’t know enough about men. He says they are all that way. Steve wants tee off again soon. He has missed golfing for a couple years, because of the failing hip.

We like the doctor and feel confident that he will do a good job. Steve’s daughter works in the medical field, and she assures us that this is a fairly routine operation these days.

In the meantime, I am still praying that Steve’s hip will be naturally healed by the power of God. I believe, as do our friends, that we, as believers, should be able to bring healing into a person’s life. Yet, our friends and I prayed and proclaimed my dear husband healed, and he was not. I am not one to give up. I have read books about healing and am reading a new one today written by a paramedic that heals people, some of them on their way to the hospital for emergency care.

What I’ve read this morning has encouraged me. Jesus said when his disciples could not heal someone, that their problem was a lack of faith. The Word of God says about faith in Romans 10:17, “So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.” I’m reading the words of faith again and again. One of these days, who knows, my faith may suddenly appear in great strength, and our friends and I will speak with authority, and my hubby will be healed!

Steve says, “Hurry! August 19 is the deadline!”

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses, Memoir, Thought and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Trip to the Surgeon to Learn about Hip Replacement – Enlightening – Interesting – Scary to Me – What Isn’t Scary to Me – Steve Is Expecting to Get Back to Normal Soon – What Does He Call Normal – Back to the Golf Course –

  1. pattisj says:

    However God chooses to heal Steve, we will be grateful. Hoping you witness a miracle first-hand.

    Like

  2. Maxi says:

    Mega prayers for Steve’s surgery, Carol Ann. Prayers for the guidance of the surgeon’s hands and God’s healing in the aftercare.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  3. mrteague says:

    If God chooses not to heal, I think He is choosing to be strong in our weakness. One of the most famous of unhealed hips is Jacob’s. In fact, when he prayed, God injured his healthy hip. After Jacob was weakened by his bad hip, God changed his name to Israel, which means “he overcomes with God” or “Prince with God.” Either way you translate the name it means God’s power manifest in our weakness!

    Like

    • Thank you for your visit and your comment. We trust that Steve will be blessed, because God is faithful and good. I like your reference to the account when Jacob wrestled with the Lord. Blessings to you…

      Genesis 32:24-30 – The Bible – (KJV) And Jacob was left alone; and there wrestled a man with him until the breaking of the day. And when he saw that he prevailed not against him, he touched the hollow of his thigh; and the hollow of Jacob’s thigh was out of joint, as he wrestled with him. And he said, Let me go, for the day breaketh. And he said, I will not let thee go, except thou bless me. And he said unto him, What is thy name? And he said, Jacob. And he said, Thy name shall be called no more Jacob, but Israel: for as a prince hast thou power with God and with men, and hast prevailed. And Jacob asked him, and said, Tell me, I pray thee, thy name. And he said, Wherefore is it that thou dost ask after my name? And he blessed him there. And Jacob called the name of the place Peniel: for I have seen God face to face, and my life is preserved.

      Like

  4. Pingback: The Bible Just Ain’t Hip « The Voice of One

Please share your thoughts...

