Be Refreshed with a Cold Glass of Water with Lemon – An Alkaline Splash in a Glass – Healthful – Thirst Quenching – Revitalizing – Sweet Lemony Taste –

Lemon Water 3

Why not turn a glass of water into a healthful treat?

Lemon Water 1It’s summertime and iced water is often on my mind. Nothing quenches thirst like water. It occurred to me that water is probably alkaline. Surely one beneficial effect of drinking water would be to keep the pH balance of my body in order.

I wanted to know for sure that I was right and that water indeed is alkaline in character at least most of the time. I conducted my own Internet search.

WRONG. The main factor that tips the balance toward acidic or alkaline is the condition of the water as it comes out of the tap.

Water is typically neutral, around 7 on the scale, which means it is neither acidic nor alkaline. Our efforts to improve our water may make a difference. For instance, purification may be achieved by distilling. We don’t distill our water. We use a Brita filter to make it taste good. Neither distilling water nor using filters to improve the taste is likely to make the water alkaline.

Lemon Water 2There are things we can do to bring water into the alkaline range. There are drops that one may purchase. Also, there is this: Put fresh lemon in the water! Fresh means fresh. Cut a slice of lemon and squeeze it into a glass of water. Drop the slice into the water. The rest of the lemon must be used very soon or it will lose its ability to turn a glass of water from neutral to alkaline. I am hoping that using it the same day is soon enough. After cutting a lemon slice, I reserve the remainder of the lemon for future use, the same day, in a container in the refrigerator. I’m opting for fresh lemon in my water to make it more healthful for my body.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Analysis, Food, Thought and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be Refreshed with a Cold Glass of Water with Lemon – An Alkaline Splash in a Glass – Healthful – Thirst Quenching – Revitalizing – Sweet Lemony Taste –

  1. lesliepaints says:

    I do this, but did not know why. Just heard to do it, somewhere. Thank you!

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

