Morning Coffee Prepared in my Bodum Bean Ice French Press Coffeemaker Inspires Carbohydrate Search – HM Nothing – What about Gluten-Free Crepe-like Pancakes – YES – I’m Liking my Gluten-Free Flour Better than Ever –

Two crepe-like pancakes, stacked - Coffee with ice cubes, cinnamon, and cream

Two crepe-like pancakes, stacked – Coffee with ice cubes, cinnamon, and cream

We switched from our Keurig coffeemaker that produces wonderful, hot coffee in moments to a Bodum Cold Press that makes cold coffee in several hours. We made this change to drink less acidic coffee that is better for our health.

Coffee 5My first encounter with cold pressed coffee happened at my sister’s home. My brother-in-law poured himself a cup of this cold brew and told me about the coffee’s lower acidity. He poured a cup for me. I was impressed. Steve and I do not regret the switch, although we keep our Keurig clean and ready to serve our guests at a moment’s notice.

I poured my cup of coffee from this pot, and immediately began looking for something carbohydrate to enjoy with it. I’m on a diet that limits carbs, and sometimes I crave a treat that is simply OFF my diet. Why I thought of thin, crepe-like pancakes that I used to make with wheat flour, I cannot explain. I pulled out my canister of gluten-free flour, deciding that all I had to lose was one egg, a little coconut oil, milk, and a small bowl of flour. I made enough for Steve and me to enjoy. My recollection of making these thin pancakes was apparently correct and the hoped-for versatility of my flour became obvious as we enjoyed the delicious crepe-like pancakes with our coffee. (They taste more like crepes, are thicker than crepes, yet thinner than pancakes.)

Notice the Keurig in the background. We have both options, but mostly we use the Bodum

Notice the Keurig in the background. We have both options, but mostly we use the Bodum

If you are interested in knowing more about the Bodum coffee press, read on. There are Bodum presses that make hot coffee. In fact, it appears that we paid quite a bit more for our cold press, but coffee that is heated is more acidic than cold coffee.

Here is how our cold press works and photos of the three parts. I have emptied and washed the pot. I grind fresh whole-bean coffee in our grinder. You may use canned ground coffee, but the grind should be a little courser than for drip coffeemakers. Any coarsely ground coffee will work.

Coffee 6Coffee 2I put the ground coffee into the pot first and fill it with filtered water. Next I place the round lid on top and put the pot in the refrigerator for several hours. We leave it in overnight. It doesn’t keep getting stronger and stronger. When all the flavor comes out of the beans, extra time does not affect the taste. At least, we don’t think it does and ours waits for us from 8 to 12 hours.

I have not pushed the apparatus all the way down. It fits on top, but I'm not ready to press the coffee through. I am ready to put the pot into the refrigerator to brew overnight.

I have not pushed the apparatus all the way down. It fits on top, but I’m not ready to press the coffee through. I am ready to put the pot into the refrigerator to brew overnight.

I take the pot out of the refrigerator in the morning, lift the round lid and replace it with the larger utensil, which is a lid, filter, and plunger apparatus. I press the plunger all the way to the bottom. The filter does not allow the grounds to pass through. What remains on top of the plunger is a pot full of less-acidic coffee with a bold flavor. (See the first photo where the plunger is fully engaged and the grounds have been pressed out. This is what it looks like when the apparatus is fully engaged and the pot is ready to pour coffee.)

I add ice, cinnamon, and cream to my cup. Steve lets his sit until it reaches room temperature. We both enjoy our personalized cold-pressed coffee in the morning.

PS: When I make crepe-like pancakes again, I’ll take note of the ratio of milk, egg, flour, and oil that I use. I may post the recipe in the future. I like EASY recipes. These pancakes are thin, light, and tasty. They take minutes to prepare. You don’t need gluten-free flour either. I made them often with wheat flour. E a s y … e a s y … tasty … thin … did I say easy?

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Coffee, Cooking Techniques and Shortcuts, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Morning Coffee Prepared in my Bodum Bean Ice French Press Coffeemaker Inspires Carbohydrate Search – HM Nothing – What about Gluten-Free Crepe-like Pancakes – YES – I’m Liking my Gluten-Free Flour Better than Ever –

  1. LC says:

    That looks really cool, adding cinnamon to coffee sounds like a really good idea!

    Like

    • Cinnamon is very flavorful and there are many health benefits in it, too. Some coffee houses put a cinnamon shaker next to the cream and sugar. Thanks for stopping by, LC. Blessings to you…

      Like

  2. pattisj says:

    I didn’t know about cold-pressed coffee.

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

