Butterfly Bandage to the Rescue – Pinkie Cut Healed in One Day –

Less than 24 hours after cut

Less than 24 hours after cut and healing has happened

Have you ever cut yourself deeply enough that the edges of the wound did not quite meet? Yesterday I cut my pinkie while chopping onions. I made a butterfly bandage to pull the edges together. This was a minor cut, not one that needed emergency care. Yet, without a butterfly bandage, the wound might not have healed as quickly as it did. When applied to the wound, the butterfly pulls the edges of the cut and holds them together securely.

Ordinary bandage cut in half

Ordinary bandage cut in half

Making a butterfly bandage from tape or a regular bandage is simple to do. I learned how to do it many years ago when I stuck my hand inside a glass while doing the dishes. The glass broke and I received a gash over the knuckle on my right hand about an inch long. I still have the scar, which I might not have if I’d gone to an emergency room for stitches. Those were days without medical insurance, so we treated it at home. My husband made a butterfly bandage to hold the edges of the wound together. It healed without incident, and the scar is barely noticeable.

Snip each edge and fold sticky side over other side, making butterfly

Snip each edge and fold sticky side over other side, making butterfly

Butterfly applied. (I added a second bandage to keep it dry.)

Butterfly applied. (I added a second bandage to keep it dry.)

Yesterday I was chopping onion for meatballs with cream sauce. The most obvious rule for chopping safety would be to keep one’s mind on the project at hand, but my mind had wandered. I should have sharpened my knife, but I didn’t. With the benefit of a butterfly bandage, my finger has already healed enough to remove the bandage.

This pinkie cut doesn’t look bad, but it was worse than any other little cuts I acquired while cooking over the years. I will pay more attention to what I’m doing, and I’ll sharpen my knife each time before using it. I will also have medical tape on hand in case I need a butterfly bandage. Making one from a regular bandage was less than optimal. But it worked.

P.S.  Am I the only one that has cut a finger while cooking? I confess that I burn myself often by reaching inside the oven to turn the meat or pull the baking dish out of the oven. These burns have never been serious, but … OUCH!

 

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Memoir and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Butterfly Bandage to the Rescue – Pinkie Cut Healed in One Day –

  1. It wasn’t the bandage. It was the onion juice. If you fill your bathtub with onions and soak well daily, all injuries will heal in a day. If you wear a blue hat while in the bathtub they usually heal up in half a day. Let me know how this works for ya.

    Like

    • Really? It doesn’t surprise me. Onion juice is amazing. Soaking well daily in a bathtub full of onions, wearing a blue hat? I’ll have to try that. Thanks, Carl. Blessings to you…

      Like

      • pattisj says:

        Soaking in onion juice? Is Carl trying to rid you of friends? LOL Glad your finger is doing better. I bought oven mitts that extend up my arms, not quite mid-way to the elbow, but they’ve cut down on those oven rack burns. Now I need to start wearing them when I iron… Blessings to you!

        Like

      • Ha ha! I’d have to find some really good body lotion after that bath. I have to find some oven mitts like yours! I can see how that would help protect me from my clumsiness. Thanks for stopping by. Blessings to you, also…

        Like

Please share your thoughts...

