Must Use Broccoli and Celery – Found Recipe for Puréed Broccoli and Celery Soup – By Martha Rose Shulman – Delightful Flavor and Texture –

Soup cooking ingredientsWhen I have produce on hand that I want to use quickly, I get on the Internet and look for an appropriate recipe. My dinner party that featured broccoli salad left me with two thirds of the bag of broccoli from Costco and a few stalks of celery from Fry’s. (Celery has very few calories and it’s alkaline.) I found what I was looking for, a recipe called Puréed Broccoli and Celery Soup, by Martha Rose Shulman. (She has written a book that you will find out about if you follow the link.) Her recipe was very good.

I cut the ingredients in half for the two of us. If you want only a small amount of soup, here are the ingredient amounts I used. If you want a larger batch, click on the link and see the original recipe. I served this soup as a side. If it were the entree, there might not be any leftover.

Pureed Broccoli Celery Soup cooking potSoup pureed in blender1/2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1/2 medium onion, chopped
2 stalks celery, diced
1 to 2 garlic cloves, minced (I used 4)
1 pound broccoli, mostly crowns, chopped; stems, if using, peeled and diced
3 ounces potatoes, peeled and diced, or 1/4 cup medium grain rice (I used a large potato)
1 quart water or vegetable stock (I used seasoned chicken stock)

A bouquet garni made with a bay leaf, a Parmesan rind, and a couple of sprigs each thyme and parsley (I used a few sprigs of parsely, Parmesan rind, and a pinch of ground thyme. I forgot the bay leaf, but the soup was good. Put in the bay leaf and it might be better.)

Soup in BowlSalt and freshly ground pepper to taste

3/4 ounces spinach leaves or baby spinach -1/2 cup, tightly packed – (I omitted this ingredient.)

1 tablespoon chopped fresh herbs, such as parsley, tarragon, chives, for garnish (I used parsley.)

Optional garnishes: A drizzle of olive oil; a swirl of crème fraiche or plain yogurt; a sprinkle of freshly grated Parmesan. (I omitted this optional garnish, also)

I am using my own words for the rest of the recipe. Cook the chopped onion and celery in olive oil until tender, adding the garlic when the onion and celery are nearly done.

Add the broccoli and potato (or rice) to the pot along with 32 ounces of chicken broth (recipe says water or vegetable broth). Add the garni bouquet and the Parmesan rind.

Bring it to a boil, cover, and cook 30 minutes. Let it sit for about five minutes to cool it off.

Puree the hot soup in the blender in small batches until it’s all pureed. Add chopped parsley or whatever garnish you choose. ENJOY!

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts...

