My Beloved Husband on a Ladder in the Sand Doing Yard Work – OH NO – Worrisome Wife Comes to the Rescue –

 

After trimming with clippers - I refused the gasoline powered tool - This was my first try at trimming -

After trimming with clippers – I refused the gasoline powered tool – This was my first try at trimming –

Steve and I worked in the yard early this morning. Look at the bush I trimmed with a small clipper! What a difference it made! I am recognizing my yard work talent! I should be trimming bushes while Steve pulls weeds. Ha! Really! My work would be fun! Steve’s work would remain ugly. Okay. I’ll pull weeds, too.

Steve pointed to the brown top of a yucca plant. He wanted to remove it, but it was quite a ways up. I suggested that he get a ladder so he could reach it. What was I thinking? Why didn’t I just shut up?

When my part of the yard work for the day was finished, I went inside. Steve came inside, too, to take a short break before returning to the yard. The break was the best part of the morning, if you know what I mean. We enjoyed it. It was less labor intensive and more pleasing to the body and soul.

Ladder Yard Work 3Steve went back outside. I took off my sweat suit and put my night shirt back on until my morning rituals, reading and relaxing, were finished. Before sitting down to read, I looked outside the window and what did I see? My hubby on a ladder in the sand, reaching toward the top of the yucca plant! I ran out the door in my night shirt!

“Does this look like I’m wearing my night shirt?

Steve said, “Yes.”

I didn’t care. I needed to hold the ladder steady.

Steve yelled, “Hey everybody, my wife is outside in her nightgown!”

I looked around but I saw no one. “It won’t work. I’m staying until you finish.”

Ladder Yard Work 4The clippers could not snap the large stem of the yucca. Steve came down the ladder to get a power tool. While he was getting the power saw, I climbed the ladder. It was steady and safe.

Shame on me for not trusting my husband’s judgment. I was just checking. Okay? Just being careful. I’ve lost a few husbands and I want Steve for a long time. Losing gets to be a habit! I’m winning!

I went inside to get my camera. Why waste a good photo op? Steve climbed the ladder, sawed off the brown top of the yucca, and came down. Safely.

 

 

 

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Humor, Memoir and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Beloved Husband on a Ladder in the Sand Doing Yard Work – OH NO – Worrisome Wife Comes to the Rescue –

  1. Laura Best says:

    I enjoyed reading about your “Yucca” adventure. WE landscaped for a man who loved his yucca plants. I wasn’t so sure they were that special, but we all have our own tastes.

    Men, yes, we worry about the things they do. I guess women are more cautious or maybe we just don’t give them enough credit for knowing when things are safe. ;).

    Like

    • Steve is a great guy and careful. I don’t know why I felt I needed to hold the ladder. Funny. I think you are right. I didn’t give him the credit he deserves. Blessings to you, Laura…

      Like

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Sometimes men can be a little like children: they think they are invincible. My joke with my husband when I see him doing something questionable is to say, “well, at least your life insurance policy is paid up.” That’s often enough to get him to back off 🙂

    Like

    • That’s a clever comment for the occasion! Men will be men and boys will be boys. Men are bigger boys that play with bigger toys, like power saws. Yikes. Blessings to you, Janna…

      Like

  3. I can’t help but smile. God bless you both. You are so very real!

    Paula

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

