How Do We Know God Is Good – How Do We Reconcile the Goodness of God with Tragedy – (Letters to a Friend Series)

I watched a movie with my husband last night. The plot involved human trafficking. Nothing makes me angrier than to see a person treated with extreme cruelty. I’m an emotional person, so every time the good guy struck a bad guy, I yelled, “Hit him again! Kill him! Shoot him!” (My husband winced and said he hoped he would never do anything I don’t like.)

When I hear about injustice and horrific cruelty going on in the world, I get angry. I want God to stop it from happening and help the victims. Why doesn’t he do it every time? Why does evil continue? Why doesn’t lightning strike the bad guys right then and there?

Clouds SunlightGOD’S PERSPECTIVE IS DIFFERENT FROM OURS –

We don’t look at the bad guys from God’s perspective. We see life from our limited point of view.

Consider that death is not the end of our stories. There is life after death, so there are eternal chapters playing out forever for those that have been abused or suffered in some way here on earth. We have a good eternal future.

I am not saying that this is the definitive explanation for all the sadness on the earth, but it sheds a little light on our bewilderment.

We Know God Loves Us Because He gave His Son for us – What is YOUR Perspective – How You See God Influences Your Relationship with Him –

See God from the Viewpoint of His Love for You –

God the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit love us. From the beginning, God knew that sin would happen. Father and Son planned the most loving rescue that has ever been perpetrated. Together they accomplished for all mankind, through the power of supreme LOVE, redemption, salvation, and justification, rescuing the world from sin, reconciling mankind to God. All who believe are the Sons of God, favored and blessed forever. God gave us His Son; His Son gave us His lifeblood. God is good.

2 Corinthians 5:19 – The Bible (KJV) – To wit, that God was in Christ, reconciling the world unto himself, not imputing their trespasses unto them; and hath committed unto us the word of reconciliation. (Emphasis added)

The Father was in Christ reconciling the world unto himself…

Does the Father love us like Jesus loves us?

John 10:30 – The Bible – (KJV) – I and my Father are one.

We may have confidence in the love of the Father, as well as the love of Jesus Christ, His Son –

Was Jesus forsaken by His Father on the cross?

John 16:31 – The Bible – (KJV) – Behold, the hour cometh, yea, is now come, that ye shall be scattered, every man to his own, and shall leave me alone: and yet I am not alone, because the Father is with me.

Jesus tells us that the Father was with Him.

Mark 15:34 – The Bible (KJV) – My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?

Jesus, the Son of God and the Son of Man, was both fully God and fully man. Could he have spoken those words from his perspective as man, verbalizing our prevailing question, WHY?

Jesus identified with us in his death. Jesus is our Savior. Jesus never sinned, so we know He never doubted His Father’s love. Did the Father forsake His Son as He died for us on the cross or did Jesus, experiencing our suffering, utter that sad question on our behalf? I believe the latter. Either way that you believe it, Jesus and the Father are one; they have one agenda.

God Loves Us and Never Leaves Us –

_____________________

The Gospel – The sweetest expression of the most terrifying love ever demonstrated, in its extremity, at full cost to Sovereign God of the Universe, purposed and accomplished to redeem mankind.

John 3:16 – The Bible (KJV) – For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

1 Peter 2:24 – The Bible (KJV) – Who his own self bare our sins in his own body on the tree, that we, being dead to sins, should live unto righteousness: by whose stripes ye were healed.

Romans 10:9 – The Bible (KJV) – That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Analysis, Bible Verses, Letters to a Friend (series) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How Do We Know God Is Good – How Do We Reconcile the Goodness of God with Tragedy – (Letters to a Friend Series)

  1. The issue of unmerited suffering probably greatest cause for atheism or for at least not wanting anything to do with God.

    Like

    • This may be true. It’s one thing that is outside the grasp of our understanding. When we look at the universe and all its splendor and beauty, when we see a newborn baby or watch birds fly effortlessly, when we wake up each morning to another sunrise, all these wonders add complexity to the issue of God’s sovereignty and His love. Our god-likeness, our free-will gets us in trouble. We all have free choice, and our freedom to choose what we want to do and do it God does not take from us. We may choose what we want to believe and believe it, also. Blessings to you, Carl…

      Like

      • The example of faith in tragedy for me is the Pilgrim effort. The figures vary but out of 120, 10 died on the voyage, 50 died that first winter leaving on 60 for that first Thanksgiving. And yet they prayed and gave thanks and had acceptance. I don’t know that I could be so faithful. But in the end I always know …

        Like

      • I read the story of the Pilgrim’s first winter. It was so sad, and life was so harsh for them. I couldn’t have survived any of it. I’m a sissy, Carl.

        I believe God takes us home early sometimes when life is too hard. My son died at 45 years old. He was addicted to drugs and couldn’t get off no matter how he tried. My heart ached for him. Now I know he is with the Lord and some of his addicted friends that died before he did. One of them I knew was a believer. I picture them together enjoying their friendship without the terrible burden of drug addiction.

        Blessings, Carl…

        Like

  2. Noel says:

    It is hard for us to accept that God could ever forgive an evil person (murderer, Rapist) because we could not do it ourselves, which is why we often give God human characteristics.

    Like

    • Yes, I agree. I think also that we lack some vital information that keeps us from understanding God’s reluctance to interfere with what goes on here on earth. Or, maybe he does intervene, and we don’t see it. Beholding mysteries that we cannot yet solve are part of trusting God. We have to look at the cross and trust that this kind of good God must be doing right, whether we see it or not. Someday we might know a lot more about our wonderful God. Blessings to you, Noel…

      Like

  3. I am so sorry to hear about your son. My 30ish children struggle too. Daughter has a few months clean again and this time has a sponsor. My son college grad still working minimum wage jobs here and there because he won’t grow up and cannot pass a pee test. I had 12 years clean and sober March 3.

    Like

    • We have something in common to understand one another better, Carl. God is good. The best part of all this is knowing that our trials someday will be just memories, maybe even fond memories, because our futures will all be bright and beautiful, thanks to Jesus. Congratulations on twelve years. That’s great! Everyday is a new beginning. Blessings to you and your family…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

