Sweet Potato – COOKING IN BACKGROUND – Fried Catfish, Apple, and Pear Prepared at the End – More Time for Me

Notice the sweet stuff oozing out, another indication that it's done cooking...

Notice the sweet stuff oozing out, another indication that it’s done cooking…

It’s true that I like to cook, but sometimes I’d rather do something else. This is when I choose food that will cook by itself while I do something else.

Wanting more time for myself today, I chose to bake a sweet potato. Seeing this sweet potato, you will understand why Steve questioned me about its size at the store. Of course, I must have been right, you think, but, no, I was wrong. Did I buy it anyway? Yes, I did. Duh. I don’t like leftovers. We WILL HAVE LEFTOVER sweet potato for tomorrow.

One half of this beauty will be served tomorrow.

One half of this beauty will be served tomorrow.

Here is how simple it is to bake a delicious sweet potato. Wash it, remove any ugly-looking parts that offend you. Stab it a few times with a knife, so it won’t explode. (I’ve heard that it’s not fun to clean the oven after such an event.) Put it in the oven at 400 degrees Fahrenheit and forget it for about 30 minutes, if it is a normal sized sweet potato. (I forgot this one for about 45 minutes.) Next, turn it over in the oven (optional) and add five or ten minutes until a sharp knife slides into it without resistance.

This one probably took an hour to bake, since it was so huge. I don’t know what I was thinking that day. I love sweet potatoes. Maybe I was hungry when we shopped. Maybe I just wanted to be sure I’d have enough for my voracious appetite. We had enough for two meals, at least.

After the sweet potato finished baking, I set it aside to be cut in half when the catfish was fried and the apple and pear prepared to serve.

Dip the catfish in gluten-free flour,  although wheat flour works fine, and fry it in hot cooking oil. (I used olive oil for cooking – not the kind for salads and dipping.)

While the fish fries, peel the apple and the pear and slice them. Easy, fast, and dinner was served.

Mine

Mine

His

His

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet Potato – COOKING IN BACKGROUND – Fried Catfish, Apple, and Pear Prepared at the End – More Time for Me

  1. elizabeth says:

    Did you cook the apples and pear Carol Ann?

    Like

    • No, I did not cook the apple or the pear. I peeled the apple, quartered it, and spread crunchy peanut butter on it. I didn’t peel the pear. I sliced half a pear and divided it between the two of us. When I want time for myself, I make cooking simple, often serving fresh fruit without any cooking. Glad that you are back from your visit with your mom. Blessings to you, Elizabeth…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

