Weeds HERE – Weeds GONE – YAY – HURRAH – My Husband Accomplished This Himself –

Steve came inside yesterday looking more tired after pulling weeds than on other days. I asked if he worked too hard, and he said he did not. He said he was fine. (Steve ALWAYS says he is fine. Nice positive outlook, right? I like it.) I had quit helping him with the weed project after my third encounter, but I’m going to start up again. Really, I am, because the work is not finished.

GardenYesterday Steve made a large dent in the workload when he finished this garden (photo above). See how the weeds were so tall that they covered half the tree trunk and branches.

Now see TRIUMPH in this next photo. Steve accomplished this in two days! Each of those tall weeds had to be dug out with a screwdriver. (Steve does not possess yard tools. Why? He is a carpenter and a mechanic and finds the tools of these crafts, such as screwdrivers, hammers, etc., adequate for just about anything.) I guess he proved that it can be done with a screwdriver, because that’s how he did it.

Thank you, Steve!
Weeds are goneThere is more work to be done in the rest of the yard. I’d say we are possibly half finished. I need to get out there and be his helper. I am pleading for a real garden tool to get the job done. (I’m not a gardener, so I really don’t know if there is a tool that will work better than a screwdriver.) I used the screwdriver in another circular garden like this one to remove similar weeds, but shorter. I used it to dig around a weed that was growing inside a pot. Finally, I gave the weed a POWER pull, and the whole pot uprooted from the ground along with the weed and Steve’s underground sprinkler system hose. Alas! I’ll be more careful next time.

 

 

 

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Memoir and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weeds HERE – Weeds GONE – YAY – HURRAH – My Husband Accomplished This Himself –

  1. Patricia says:

    Looks like you have a big yard! Makes me happy with my little balcony. Although, I would like a yard, a small one, so I could have a dog.

    Like

  2. You mean you didn’t find a pirate’s chest full of gold?

    Like

  3. Laura Best says:

    Having worked for a landscaping company for two years, I can definitely tell you that there there are tools out there that will work much better than a screwdriver. I always found bringing beds back to life so rewarding. Very time consuming, but rewarding. Good luck with your project. 🙂

    Like

    • I knew there would be a good tool. I’m going to look for it. I am amazed at the difference after Steve removed those weed trees. Still there is work to do to make it blossom with flowers again. It will take time. Blessings to you, Laura…

      Like

  4. jannatwrites says:

    I’ve used screwdrivers to loosen weeds before (to the point of getting blisters) Love the before and after – huge change there 🙂

    Like

    • Steve has been doing it for countless years (109? I don’t think so). He is in a rut, that’s what. I carried two buckets of water out to a section of those tall weed trees and drenched them. Half an hour later I removed them all in about five minutes. I have to admit that it doesn’t take Steve long to remove them with his screwdriver. Blessings to you, Janna…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

