Spaghetti Squash – Easy to Prepare – Simple Fare – Serve with Butter or Marinara Sauce – or – whatever sauce you have on your shelf – or No Sauce at All –

This one is already baked.

This one is already baked.

Wash the squash. Stab it in several places to prevent explosion. (I’ve never had one explode, so I cannot tell you what that would be like.) Stick it in a 350 degree Fahrenheit oven and bake it for 40 minutes. It will probably take an hour, but after 40 minutes, start watching it. I add 10 minutes and check it again until it’s done. When spaghetti squash is raw, the color is bright yellow or pale yellow, and the shell is hard. When it is finished cooking, the shell will have browned a little and it will dent easily when squeezed, but it won’t have a cave-sized dent as this one does. I have already cut this one in half and cleaned it out, and this is why it has caved in. I forgot to snap a photo of it while it was raw, so I put the halves back together like a whole squash.

Spaghetti Squash - after bakingCut the finished spaghetti squash in half. Remove the seeds with a spoon, and use a fork to pull the strands of squash from the sides. The insides look like yellow strands of spaghetti. I have already pulled out the squash and put it on our plates. I could have scraped more out, but our plates were full.

 

Spaghetti Squash with ButterI like spaghetti squash with Spaghetti Squash with saucesalt, pepper, and a fat glob of butter. (I know. I’m awful. All those extra calories.) My husband prefers marinara sauce, but I didn’t have any on this day. I had Classico Alfredo Saucebrand Alfredo Sauce, which I served over his squash. Spaghetti squash needs no sauce at all. Salt and pepper and dine. So why do I put butter on it? I like butter, I guess.

 

 

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts...

