Make Cooking Simple – Use Whole Chicken – Quartered potato, Sliced Red Bell Pepper, Broccoli Florets, Walnuts – Be Healthy and Include Some Alkaline Foods for PH Balance –

Knife and Chicken in BagI buy a whole chicken and cut it in half. It’s simple to cut a chicken in half. Hold it by one leg with a sharp knife in your other hand. Balance the chicken on a cutting board on its neck cavity with its tail up. Grasp it tightly so that you can cut along the right side of the middle, avoiding the center bone. The rib bones break easily as you push the knife all the way down. Don’t to try to cut through the very center. When you get through to the bottom, lay it down and spread it apart, revealing any part that still must be cut. Cut through any remaining part. Freeze each half in a separate bag so you may use one at a time as needed.

Baked Chicken

I have never cut badly before, but this time I missed the middle line . Notice how there is more breast. The other half will have less breast. DUH!!!

Place a half chicken in a baking pan. Salt, pepper, and if you like, sprinkle garlic powder on it, also. It is ready to bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for about an hour. Check it at 50 minutes and add minutes until it is brown and the drippings are sizzling. Today I added a quartered potato to the pan. Usually, the potato will be done when the chicken is finished, but this time I had to take the half chicken out Cut Chickenof the pan when it was finished cooking. Plan A failed, but Plan B worked fine. I finished cooking the potatoes without the chicken in the pan. I turned the broiler on for a few minutes to brown the potato slices and continued baking at 350 degrees for five more minutes.

While the chicken and potato are baking, slice the peppers and cut the broccoli florets off the stem. (I do this only because my husband doesn’t like broccoli stems. If you like them, cut them in pieces, also.) Wait until the chicken is nearly done to stir fry the broccoli and red peppers in a wok or a fry pan with a small handful of walnuts or cashews. Fry to a tender crispness. Add half a teaspoon of garam masala or curry powder, to taste, and toss to coat. Wok with Broccoli and Red PeppersFig Spread Soy Sauce and Garam MasalaRice VinegarOptionally, sprinkle a little soy sauce over it, a splash of rice vinegar, and a few teaspoons of honey or pepper jelly, or, as I did today, a little fig spread. Toss again. We like the sweet and sour flavor.

Chicken DinnerDinner is served:

DID I MENTION ALKALINE FOODS?

I hate to talk about it, because I’m not an expert. Since I’ve learned about the importance to our health of a proper PH balance in our bodies, I make sure that my husband and I eat alkaline foods along with the acidic foods that we eat. According to Dr. William Davis, who wrote the Wheat Belly book, our brain will aid our bodily systems in maintaining that highly important PH balance at any cost. If it cannot find the alkalinity needed for proper balance from the foods we eat, our bones and organs must give it up for the cause. Why would this happen? I don’t know, exactly, but if the doctor is right, PH balance is imminently more important than our bones and organs, because the extreme negative impact would happen immediately. What would that extreme negative impact be? Death. Our bones and organs will not fail from their losses until later in our lifetime. Frankly, I’d like to keep my bones and organs right up until the end. For more on this phenomenon, read the good doctor’s book or research this issue in some other way, and please, share it with me. I hope this is not true. If it is, I would have liked hearing about it while I was still young. (I am old by any standard except that of my indomitable spirit that is determined to remain young.)

Raw Broccoli and PeppersWe all know we should make room for fruits and vegetables in our diets, if only for the sake of nutrition. The only alkaline foods in this dinner were the broccoli and the peppers. Chicken is acidic. Potatoes are iffy. Sometimes they are acidic and sometimes they are alkaline. Americans are too acidic for our own good. We don’t eat enough alkaline foods.

 

 

 

 

 

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts...

