When Christians Miss the Mark, Sin, Fall Short, or Fail – What Then – (Letters to a Friend – Series)

Question Mark GreenHere we are merrily going along living the Christian life, when we suddenly stumble, slip, or fall. Maybe it isn’t sudden. Perhaps we are slowly backsliding into a weakened state, when finally we fall and we know it. We are sorry, yet, we feel helpless. What next?

Must we expect God to withdraw His fellowship from us until we make amends and ask God to forgive us? Even after confessing and asking forgiveness, some still do not feel right with God.

A clearer understanding of our salvation adds light to this issue…

These promises are always true:

John 5:24 – The Bible (KJV) – Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that heareth my word, and believeth on him that sent me, hath everlasting life, and shall not come into condemnation; but is passed from death unto life.

We shall not come into condemnation. That’s what it says.

Hebrews 8:12 – The Bible (KJV) – For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their iniquities will I remember no more.

No more means NO MORE…

We must assume from reading these clear scriptures (and many others) that any alienation or lost fellowship with God is real only to us and not recognized by our loving Father in Heaven. We may feel put off, but fellowship with our God is entirely possible, because of the finished work of Christ on the cross.

Confusion about the Holy Spirit

The Holy Spirit is not the one that reminds us of our shortcomings. He reminds us of our redemption, salvation, and righteousness that Jesus provided.

The Holy Spirit reminds us of our righteousness in Christ.

Many suppose that the Holy Spirit reminds Christians of their failures, but it is the World He convicts of sin, the sin of rejecting Jesus, the Savior of the World.

The Holy Spirit reminds the World (unbelievers) of sin,

He reminds Believers of righteousness, and

 He reminds Satan of judgment

Who is the Accuser of the brethren? Is it the Holy Spirit? No, it is the Devil. He accuses us, and inwardly we feel it. Don’t receive it. Don’t believe it. We are forgiven, FOREVER.

The Holy Spirit reminds believers that we are forgiven and made righteous by the blood of the Lamb.

This is what Jesus said to his disciples about the Comforter, the Holy Spirit that He would send:

John 16:7-11 – The Bible (KJV) – Nevertheless I tell you the truth; it is expedient for you that I go away: for if I go not away, the Comforter will not come unto you; but if I depart, I will send him unto you. And when he is come, he will reprove the world of sin, and of righteousness, and of judgment: Of sin, because they believe not on me; of righteousness, because I go to my Father, and ye see me no more; of judgment, because the prince of this world is judged.

Analysis:

Jesus explained to His disciples exactly what the Holy Spirit would do. Keep in mind that Jesus is speaking to His disciples, referring to them as YOU (Old English YE). Jesus breaks it down by mentioning to whom each part of the Holy Spirit’s ministry pertains:

(1) To the World: Of sin, because they (the World) believe not on me.
(2) To YOU, speaking to the disciples (old English YE): Of righteousness, because I go to my Father, and ye see me no more;
(3) To Satan as the prince of this world: of judgment, because the prince of this world is judged.

The Joy of the Lord is our strength. We must not let condemnation take away our joy.

When we fail, we THANK our Lord for His forgiveness. We know that we already have it, because of His finished work on the cross. We are forgiven, whether we ask for it or not, because Jesus already paid for our sins. How precious He is!

If I haven’t convinced you that we already have forgiveness, and you still believe you must confess and ask forgiveness to restore fellowship with the Lord, BELIEVE that you receive it, and you will have it.

Praise to Jesus, the Lamb of God that taketh away the sin of the world.

_____________________

COMING SOON: What about 1 John 1:9? We have always thought that this verse tells us that we must confess our sins and ask forgiveness to maintain our fellowship with God.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Analysis, Bible Verses, Letters to a Friend (series), Thought and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Christians Miss the Mark, Sin, Fall Short, or Fail – What Then – (Letters to a Friend – Series)

  1. jannatwrites says:

    When I fall short, it can be hard to get past the disappointment. (And I fall short A LOT – perfection isn’t a realistic goal!) God’s forgiveness is a blessing. I have that long before I get to the point of forgiving myself.

    Like

    • I am like that, too. We need to get over it, don’t we. I remind ourselves that Jesus died to make us free of condemnation to live for him. When I hold something against myself, I tell myself to STOP IT! Why should we frustrate the grace of God?

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

