Learning to Cook without Wheat Gluten – Breaded Catfish and Stir Fried Ching Kung Choy – Apple Slices with Crunchy Peanut Butter

Catfish and Stir Fry with Ching Kung Choy and Walnuts. Apple Slices topped with peanut butter for dessert

Fried Catfish, Stir Fry with Ching Kung Choy and Walnuts. Apple Slices with peanut butter

Not only do I have trouble finding gluten-free restaurant foods to order, it’s difficult to find gluten-free ingredients and recipes, also. I am learning to cook without wheat flour. Until just recently, I fried fish without any coating. Now I dip it in gluten-free flour. The taste and texture are different from fish fried in wheat flour or cornmeal or a combination of the two; yet, it is very tasty. It’s crispier, but a different kind of crispiness. My husband and I like it. The small dessert dishes contain apple slices with crunchy peanut butter on top.

Ching Kung Choy, Walnuts, Curry Powder, Jalapeno Jelly

Ching Kung Choy, Walnuts, Curry Powder, Hot and Sweet Pepper Jelly

You may not be familiar with ching kung choy. Today was my first experience with this Asian vegetable. It is very similar to bok choy, which most grocery stores carry. In fact, it looks like baby bok choy, but it may not be that. I cut off the bottoms and then cut the white portions from the green. I split the white parts in two and tore the green leaves in two. I melted butter with olive oil in a wok and tossed the ching kung choy and walnuts until they were crispy tender, sprinkling curry powder over it, and stirring in a generous teaspoon of hot and sweet pepper jelly. The butter gave the olive oil a very rich, sweet, nutty flavor. Maybe the nuttiness came from the walnuts. Hmm.

I set aside the stir fry and dipped the catfish in gluten-free flour, which I salted and peppered first. I fried it in olive oil, turning both fillets a few times.

This dinner didn’t take much time at all. I am finding that I have to eat less, if I want to lose weight. Maybe the apples with peanut butter were more than I should have had. Oh well. Tomorrow’s another day.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning to Cook without Wheat Gluten – Breaded Catfish and Stir Fried Ching Kung Choy – Apple Slices with Crunchy Peanut Butter

  1. pattisj says:

    I was going to say, you cook so many things I’ve never heard of. I was glad to hear that you had not heard of this, either, but tried it. You are so creative and not afraid to try new things.

    Like

    • I do like to try new things. It’s fun. We shop at an Asian market, and their produce is very fresh and inexpensive. We have tried several new vegetables. They have all been good. Thanks for the visit. Blessings…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

