Losing Weight, Gaining Weight, Losing, Gaining, Gaining, Gaining – Oh NO!!!

photo 1 (2)The cycle of losing weight and gaining, losing and gaining, is unending, but when gaining takes an unfair advantage, like during the holidays, I get nervous. I’m not obese, and, since I don’t want to be in the future, I’m dieting. My favorite diet is the eat-less diet, but it hasn’t been working for me, so I’m trying the Atkins diet. I remember when my mother was on it. She could eat lots of food and still lose weight.  Sounds good, doesn’t it?

photo 2 (2)The first two weeks was rather intense, with elimination of starchy carbohydrates, of course, and adherence to some restrictions, which I found difficult. I’m not complaining about the diet that has helped so many people. I’m just being myself, loving fats, cream, meats, and lots of vegetables and fruits. If you look at the plates of food featured in this post, you will see the typical fare I served Steve and myself, as our main meal, with a slight modification in my servings, reflecting my efforts to comply with Atkins (I haven’t read the entire book yet, so maybe I am not doing it right). Expressly, my plate has no ball of rice, no dish of strawberries, but in exchange, a dish of pickled cucumbers and red pepper. I think that the veggies in the dish were all low glycemic and were flavored only with curry powder and a few drops of balsamic vinegar. I thought I would be losing weight, but not so. What was wrong? I read the book a little further and found the problem. It said that if I wasn’t losing weight, I should look at my overall calories, because I might be eating too much. Ha! Duh!

Steve and I go to Golden Corral, usually once a week, with our group of friends. We eat and visit for hours. As I sat there with my one plate of legitimate fare, I thought about the small scoop of ice cream that I used to have for my dessert. “Hmm,” I said to my friends, “I may end this diet in about 30 minutes.” I didn’t. I’m still on it. I avoided that scoop of ice cream. It seems to me a little like my favorite diet, the one that wasn’t working: eat less. I have reduced my servings. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Does anyone have a favorite after-holiday diet? How is it working for you? I hope you are having great success.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Losing Weight, Gaining Weight, Losing, Gaining, Gaining, Gaining – Oh NO!!!

  1. I am cutting down too. Only 19 gallons of chocolate ice cream per day now.

    Like

  2. It happens to everybody. I am all about consistency, and not giving up my favorite foods this way I do not end of falling off the wagon and going crazy. try for a goal of 30 minutes of moving a day (anything, even walking) and eating everything in moderation. My site has great recipes that have everything all portioned already for you! Best of luck. You can do it, and don’t beat yourself up.. you’re human!

    Like

  3. elizabeth says:

    I too swing and roundabout my way to the perfect weight. I think it’s a loser’s game, but like you Carol Ann, I still give it a go. 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, for me it seems to be never ending, but it’s a battle worth waging. We eat and be merry for a while, and then we eat less and be merry anyway. Ha. Thanks for stopping by. Blessings to you, Elizabeth…

      Like

  4. jannatwrites says:

    I’m not sure I could’ve resisted the ice cream 🙂 I don’t actively diet, but I do feel best when I limit my sugar intake (more energetic.)

    Like

    • I once was so taken by what Dr. Perricone said in his book about the inflammatory effects of sugar, that I quit eating foods with sugar for almost a year. I lost weight without doing anything else. (I slowly gained back that weight after indulging in one Snickers bar. Ha! My sugarless diet ended.) Now that I have quit eating wheat (because of an allergy I never knew I had until recently), I realize that the weight loss from my sugarless diet was partly due to the many wheat pastries that I gave up during my quest to eliminate sugar. You are wise to limit sugar. You are healthier by far by restricting sugar. Thanks for stopping by. Blessings to you, Janna…

      Like

  5. I am cut down my weight too! I too have cut down my serving, it is impossible to sleep at night, I have to lose 23 kgs! lol!

    Like

  6. pattisj says:

    Did your first two weeks with Atkins have you restricting starches, fruits and sugar? That’s what the South Beach diet does, and it worked for me. And I keep reading this: More calories burned than taken in. I keep a food diary. LoseIt! is a good app for doing it online, too. Count those calories.

    Like

    • I haven’t even had time to read the entire Atkins diet book, yet, so I won’t blame Atkins for my not losing weight. I blame myself for eating too much. What can I say? I like to eat. I won’t give up. I’m at the top weight that I will tolerate, so I must go down, but it will be a gradual loss most likely. Congrats for success on your South Beach Diet! It sounds like a winner! Blessings to you, Patti…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

