Contrast New and Old

According to Miriam Webster:

con·trast

Prettied the Old Stump

: to be different especially in a way that is very obvious

The green plants in the photo contrast with the old stump, calling attention to the attributes of each. The green plants are young; the stump is old. The vibrant green leaves and pink flowers lend life to the muted shades of brown in the deteriorating wood. Blending them together, as in this photo, allows the beauty of each to be appreciated to the fullest.

If we could put the plants and the stump in a blender and mix them together, as we do to foods, into a puree; the mixture would be useless.

______________

We are blessed to live in the days of the New Covenant (Grace) rather than in the days of the Old Covenant (Law). Contrasting the two Covenants makes it obvious that the New Covenant is more beautiful and desirable than the Old. Both are described in the Bible.

______________

Romans 8:2-3 – The Bible (KJV) – For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus hath made me free from the law of sin and death. For what the law could not do, in that it was weak through the flesh, God sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, and for sin, condemned sin in the flesh:

Hebrews 8:6-13 – The Bible – (KJV) – But now hath he obtained a more excellent ministry, by how much also he is the mediator of a better covenant, which was established upon better promises.

For if that first covenant had been faultless, then should no place have been sought for the second. For finding fault with them, he saith, Behold, the days come, saith the Lord, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah: Not according to the covenant that I made with their fathers in the day when I took them by the hand to lead them out of the land of Egypt; because they continued not in my covenant, and I regarded them not, saith the Lord.

For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, saith the Lord; I will put my laws into their mind, and write them in their hearts: and I will be to them a God, and they shall be to me a people: And they shall not teach every man his neighbor, and every man his brother, saying, Know the Lord: for all shall know me, from the least to the greatest.

For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their iniquities will I remember no more.

In that he saith, A new covenant, he hath made the first old. Now that which decayeth and waxeth old is ready to vanish away.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Analysis, Bible Verses, Thought and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Contrast New and Old

  1. Patricia says:

    I like the way you focus on the different beauty of the old and new and that mixing them together takes away the beauty.
    Yes, it is good to be living in the “day of grace”. 🙂

    Like

  2. pattisj says:

    Great analogy. Blessings to you.

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

