Caregivers – Let’s Party!

If I could post everyday of this season of my life, each message might be similar, beginning with my husband’s journey with Alzheimer’s and finishing with our happy ending, our promised eternal home. Heaven is real to me, and I don’t think of the future without counting past the time we spend in this temporary place. I doubt that I could get by with my life right now without keeping my eyes on the prize, which is life with Jesus and others who are waiting for the rest of us to arrive.

Thank you all who remember us in prayer. We are doing well most of the time, and we are coping all the time. Johannes was more alert today than usual. He was well enough to exude an attitude. Had he been able to speak, he might have said, “Pass the peas, please.” He still likes to eat and does so whenever possible.

I send my regards to all the caregivers of this world. The day will come when we will celebrate with our loved ones. Let’s party!

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's, Thought and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Caregivers – Let’s Party!

  1. pattisj says:

    Great message, Carol Ann!

    Like

  2. Sharmishtha says:

    caregivers are angels on earth, without wing. God bless their loving hearts.

    Like

  3. gloryteller says:

    Jesus is the penultimate care giver! He so takes care of me.
    Isn’t it ironic that we are also charged with another kind of caregiving? Casting all your care on him; for he cares for you. Peter 5:7. He gladly takes all the “cares” we would “give” Him.

    Like

    • Good advice, Len. Thank you. Jesus carries my load of cares everyday. I couldn’t make it without Him. Sometimes I need to be reminded. It is so like me to forget the most important things. Blessings to you, gloryteller…

      Like

  4. Tammy says:

    Let there be peas on earth and let it begin with me.

    Like

  5. CMSmith says:

    Thank you, Carol Ann. You are such an inspiration.

    Like

    • Thank you for visiting, Christine. Your family are experienced caregivers. You are all an inspiration to me. I’m very glad I read your book, Dancing in Heaven, about your sweet sister. Now your mom is caring for your father. She is truly an inspiration. I hope I’ll be invited to celebrate with all of you when we get to Heaven. Blessings to you…

      Like

  6. elizabeth says:

    A big AMEN! from me! Well said Carol Annn. Blessings and hugs. 🙂

    Like

  7. how are you carol? its been long since you have posted something new, i too have been quite irregular on net this month.

    hope you and johannes are fine.

    love and hugs.

    Like

    • We are okay. I trust that you are okay, too. Caring for my husband takes all my time even though he sleeps most of the day and night. I have to keep him clean and moved from one position in the bed to another constantly so that his skin won’t breakdown from the weight of his body pressing on it. As he loses weight, the bones protrude more and make him more vulnerable. Also, as he eats less, there is less nutrition to make his skin healthy. I keep praying and God has kept his skin clear so far. I am grateful for that. Blessings to you, Trisha…

      Like

  8. Carol says:

    Some days we “keep on keeping on” and are thankful for the small blessings that bring joy in the midst of the ordinary realities. I’m glad you’re both blessed by the occasional bright moments, and I continue to pray for your strength and endurance.

    Like

  9. Linda says:

    Hi Carol Ann, I haven’t been blogging for a bit. Just checking in on my online friends. I sure like how you are able to stay focused on the race. You sure know how to give glory to God. I feel a little rebuked today because I need more of a servants heart. Just said a little prayer for you. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by, Linda. I’m not good at focusing. My rebel heart strays. I rebuke it and it rebukes me right back. I pray, admitting to God my difficulty and asking for His grace to bring me back into His plan. Lo and behold, He wraps my heart around my husband so that effortlessly my focus returns. All glory goes to Jesus, where it belongs. He makes a way where there is no way! When there is a need for a servant, Jesus wraps Himself around us and together we manage it. Without Him we can do nothing. You are His resource, and He uses you for His glory. Thank you very much for your prayers, a blessing for which I thank God. Blessings returning to you from me in Christ…

      Like

  10. elizabeth says:

    Hi Carol Ann, you are so missed. Just wanted to send love and cyber hugs to you and your sweet husband. Don’t forget to take care of yourself too. xx

    Like

    • Hi Elizabeth, forgive me for my late reply. Each day I look at my email account on my iPhone. I see all the blogs I’d like to visit, but I don’t even have time to read the emails that show new posts and comments. I must take one day at a time. I owe it to my beloved husband, and I want to meet his needs. Thank you for all your prayers and your kindness and encouragement in keeping in touch. Blessings to you, Elizabeth. Love and hugs to you…

      Like

  11. elizabeth says:

    Carol Ann, please don’t ever worry about replying or reading our blogs. sometimes I just want to send you a hug. 🙂

    Like

  12. missing you. love and hugs for both of you.

    Like

  13. I’m praying for you and Johannes, Carol Ann. I know the last year has brought much sorrow, but your faith in the Lord will get you through the days ahead.

    Your poem is lovely, and reminds me of the struggle we are going through with my mother’s declining health. Thank you for taking time to share your inspiring words with others.

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

