No – It’s Not Alzheimer’s I See

Thank you LORD for this beautiful day
Of moments and opportunities –
Thank you for my husband’s
Sweet temperament – his
Quiet acceptance –
His willingness
To be here
With me
 
Thank you for insight I think I have –
Even if I don’t –
I chatter to my husband
Questions he doesn’t answer –
And I wonder
If he sees me
As though I
Were a bird that
Tweets
 

Thank you for the way he listens –

Saying not a word – yet
Giving me his rapt
Attention – blue eyes
Focusing on me –
No – it’s not
Alzheimer’s – but
My dear husband
I see

By Carol Ann Hoel © October 23, 2011

_______________________________

James 5:10-11 – The Bible (KJV) – Take, my brethren, the prophets, who have spoken in the name of the Lord, for an example of suffering affliction, and of patience. Behold, we count them happy which endure. Ye have heard of the patience of Job, and have seen the end of the Lord; that the Lord is very pitiful, and of tender mercy.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's, Bible Verses, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to No – It’s Not Alzheimer’s I See

  1. Patricia says:

    Blessings to you of sweet spirit and patient reflection.

    Like

  2. jannatwrites says:

    This poem makes me sad because I’ve been acquainted with Alzheimer’s. I know its ways. Your devotion and ability to not be swallowed by the circumstances are inspiring to me.

    Like

    • Thank you, Janna. God is good. I can see so many ways I could be undone, yet the Lord makes a way in the wilderness. The past few days have been a struggle with my health. All the advice people have been giving me to take care of myself was right. I must make sure that my priorities protect my health. Thank you for your kind comment. Blessings to you…

      Like

  3. LeRoy Dean says:

    “It’s not Alzheimers, but my dear husband I see.” Heartfelt and Inspiring. Being the caregiver is a tough job. Being the caregiver for a loved one with Alzheimers is beyond tough. My hats off to you. Prayers coming your way.

    Like

    • Thank you for your prayers, LeRoy. I appreciate it and need it very much. My husband is doing well now, but he had an issue with constantly low blood pressure for a few weeks. God is good and his blood pressure is better now. Blessings to you…

      Like

  4. What a sweet poem, Carol Ann. I pray you will always have the patience and love needed to deal with your husband’s condition.

    Blessings,
    Carol

    Like

    • Thank you, Carol. I need patience. I notice that my patience wears thin toward evening. I’m making sure I get enough rest so that I don’t become a mean old hag at night. My hubby deserves to have my best behavior all day long and all night long. Blessings to you…

      Like

  5. When you look with a heart of love, you will always find love looking back. Blessings on and to you both!

    XO Paula

    Like

  6. pattisj says:

    I love your heart and soul, and your attitude regarding Alzheimer’s. It has not touched my life, personally, but I know several whose it has. Your grace and perseverance are truly amazing. Blessings to you and Johannes.

    Like

    • Thank you, Patti. I’m glad you have been spared personal experience with Alzheimer’s. God is good and gives grace in abundance where it is needed. I appreciate your kind words. Blessings to you…

      Like

  7. elizabethre says:

    Absolutely beautiful Carol Ann. You share such a sweet spirit.

    Like

  8. Tammy says:

    This was really lovely Carol. God bless you both.

    Like

  9. fivecats says:

    You’re doing well. Continued prayers and blessings. And, stay well.

    Like

  10. S Basu says:

    your love is as pure as an angel’s love. Yes, its Johannes sitting right beside you, listening to every word you say.

    love and lots of hugs.

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

