Heaven Holds in Its Archives



Treasured memories are made of

The little things in life –
A quiet dinner
Served with love –
A warm embrace –
My husband’s
Face
 

Words that stir the heart –
Gifts given and received –
Praises flowing
Eyes glowing –
He Fondly
Holds my
Hand
 
Sands of time may blow away
All evidence of such
But Heaven holds
In its archives
Every act
Born of
Love

By Carol Ann Hoel © July 4, 2011

___________________________

1 Corinthians 1:4-10 – The Bible (NIV) – Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears.

Proverbs 15:3 – The Bible (KJV) – The eyes of the LORD are in every place, beholding the evil and the good.

Mark 9:41 – The Bible (KJV) – For whosoever shall give you a cup of water to drink in my name, because ye belong to Christ, verily I say unto you, he shall not lose his reward.

1 Corinthians 15:28 – The Bible (KJV) –  Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye steadfast, unmovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's, Bible Verses, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Heaven Holds in Its Archives

  1. A joy to read, a smile in my heart! Thanks, Carol, for sharing.

    Like

  2. Reminds me to have an archives containing nothing stained or shameful as I add new pages to its books in storage for the day the doors to the archives will be opened for all to see. I REALLY like the imagery of archives.

    Like

    • Thank you for your visit and comment, Carl. God’s archives will be perfect and complete. I expect that our record will be clean from all tarnish, because Jesus paid it all on the cross, and God has put our sins as far away from Him as the east is to the west. There is a place and time appointed when all the chaff in our lives will be burned away, leaving only the purified substance of perfection, sparkling as a jewel, for all eternity. Blessings to you, Carl…

      Psalm 103:12 – As far as the east is from the west, so far hath he removed our transgressions from us.

      Like

  3. Danny Nettleton says:

    Im a youth and children’s minister, do you care if I use this (properly attributed of course)? That last stanza is going to ring in my head all week giving me inspiration.

    Like

  4. What a beautiful way you have of expressing your sentiments. I know they are from your heart and reveal your sweet spirit about dealing with your circumstances. You KNOW I like your statement about little things(!) We all need to ponder and treasure the little everyday blessings that come our way. I, too, like your use of ‘archives.’

    Thanks again, and I hope you have a good night! God bless…
    🙂

    Like

  5. jannatwrites says:

    After just reading your post about your husband’s Alzheimer’s, this beautiful poem almost brought on tears. It is so sweet and so true, and so perfectly stated. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  6. lesliepaints says:

    Those little things in life have become the biggest as the years have flown by, Carol. Beautiful poem.

    Like

  7. pattisj says:

    This is a beautiful poem, Carol, my new favorite! Blessings to you.

    Like

  8. Jeanne says:

    I love the line “But heaven holds in its archives every act born of love” Beautiful Carol. Blessings to you

    Like

  9. trisha says:

    Thats why in my eyes god is love and love is god. every action done in/for love is worship to me.

    Like

  10. wolfsrosebud says:

    Lovely poem… check out my blog to meet other poets click One Stop Poetry in my right column.

    Like

    • I was just on your blog a few minutes ago. I didn’t look at the right hand column, but I read your poem about water. It was lovely. I’ll check out the One Stop Poetry on the right column. Thank you for stopping by and for your comment. Blessings to you, Patricia…

      Like

  11. Jane says:

    lovely, Carol Ann–
    I especially like the “look” of this one, the upside down pyramid kind of thing…

    beautiful.
    jane

    Like

  12. Bonnie says:

    1 Corinthians 4-10 is one of my very favorites. You highlight it in such a beautiful way, Carol Ann – I love the poem. Blessings my friend.

    Like

    • Thank you, Bonnie. God’s Word is full of encouraging scriptures. We are blessed to have so many promises and our faithful God. I appreciate your visit and your comment. Blessings to you always…

      Like

  13. Jamie Dedes says:

    Simple. Lovely. Nice work here, Carol Ann. Thank you!

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

