Was There Ever a Time I Didn’t Know

Was there ever a time I didn’t know
That I was Yours and You were mine –
Oh yes – as a child – I must have heard
Something about God and I was looking
For You in the carpet –
 
What are you doing – my mother asked me –
Looking for God – I replied – She said –
In the carpet – Did you find Him –
Not yet – I said – She said –
You won’t find God there
 
She seemed to know something I didn’t –
Where is God – Mommy – Where –
She said – Not in the carpet – child –
Look up not down – God is up –
I looked up – You weren’t there
 
I guess she told me all she knew of You –
Some years later I heard a conversation
Between my mother and her friend –
Her friend told her about Jesus –
From a distance I was listening
 
Would you take Jesus as Lord and Savior –
Say yes – Mom – I hoped she would –
She didn’t – Not now – she said –
I wished that Jesus would want me –
I didn’t know You saw me there
 
One day Mom’s friend took me to church –
All the people stood and sang –
I don’t recall what the preacher said
But I knew Jesus wanted me –
Yes – I said – Jesus – I’m Yours

By Carol Ann Hoel © June 11, 2011

_____________________________

Mark 10:13-14 – The Bible (KJV) – And they brought young children to him, that he should touch them: and his disciples rebuked those that brought them. But when Jesus saw it, he was much displeased, and said unto them, suffer the little children to come unto me, and forbid them not: for of such is the kingdom of God.

Romans 10:13-15 – The Bible (KJV) – For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved. How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? And how shall they hear without a preacher? And how shall they preach, except they be sent? As it is written, how beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things!

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Was There Ever a Time I Didn’t Know

  1. Satan tries to pull that carpet from under us all the time

    Like

  2. Ha! That’s a good one, Carl. Thank goodness my sweet mom pointed her young one in another direction. Thank you for stopping by and for leaving me your little chuckle. Blessings to you…

    Like

  3. jacsprat says:

    What a touching story! I think we all wish we could find peace from something beneath us so that we could have the control over our lives. Some people spend their whole lives combing out that carpet, hoping to find what they’re missing. 😦

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind comment. I appreciate your visit and your words of encouragement. I remember how intently I was looking into the carpet for a good while before my mother came into the room. I wonder if you have hit the nail on the head. Was I looking for a tangible means of being in control? I don’t know. Blessings to you…

      Like

  4. pattisj says:

    What I saw in your lovely story was a child on their hands and knees, looking for the Lord–isn’t that really where we should start looking, at the carpet? 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, I was on my knees with my hands cupped around my eyes peering into the carpet. All I could see was darkness. What possessed me to look there I don’t know. My mother knew for sure that I should be looking up. She told me that God was UP in Heaven, not down. She cleared that up for me nicely. Ha!

      Thank you for your kind words. I appreciate your gentleness. Blessings to you, Patti…

      Like

  5. lesliepaints says:

    I love the looking for God in the carpet. I know he’s there…….. Excellent story poem.

    Like

    • You are right, Leslie. God is omnipresent – He is everywhere at one time, so I guess He was in the carpet. I just couldn’t see Him. Neither could my mother. I still think she did a good thing to point me in the upward direction. Thank you for your insightful comment. Blessings to you…

      Like

  6. JoDee Luna says:

    I understand the longing to know God that you had in childhood because I experienced something similar. When I was twelve, I found out about a Billy Graham movie playing at the local theatre and begged my parents to take me. At the time, my parents were not spiritual people. I felt the overwhelming love and grace of God and went forward to give my heart to the Lord. I’m often mystified that some people have such a strong draw towards the Lord and others repel from Him. Thanks for sharing your story.

    Like

    • How wonderful that your parents responded by taking you to the Billy Graham movie! I, too, wonder why some of us, even as children, are so compellingly drawn to the LORD while others are not. I am thankful that God worked out my life in such a way that I could know Jesus as Lord and Savior in my childhood even though my parents were not so inclined at that time. Blessings to you, JoDee…

      Like

  7. jannatwrites says:

    This was such a sweet story. I’m glad God put your mom’s friend in your life to bring you to Him. I hope that one day your mom changed her mind.

    Like

    • Yes, my mom changed her mind later on in her life. She died with cancer at only 46 years old. I prayed by her bedside that God would heal her. She took my hand and asked me why I prayed against her. She wanted to be with Jesus. I quietly kept up my prayers for her life here to be lengthened, but she won. She is in Heaven. God is GOOD. I had a sweet mother, and I cherished her. Thank you for your kind comment. Blessings to you, Janna…

      Like

  8. Bonnie says:

    What a beautifully innocent translation this is. I very much enjoyed it – blessings to you, my friend.

    Like

    • Thank you, Bonnie. I appreciate your taking time to stop by. Thank you for your kind comment. May your week be pleasant and peaceful. Your beautiful drive to work in the mornings is fabulous. I’m happy for you. Blessings to you, too…

      Like

  9. I really enjoyed this one Carol – it brought tears to my eyes. I also believe that God is everywhere – how cute that a child would look for Him in the carpet! Just lovely. Also really like the picture you’ve put with this post 😀

    Thanks!
    Chloe xx

    Like

    • Thank you, Chloe. I appreciate your sweet comment. Thank you for stopping by. I liked that photo when I saw it. The little boy looks like he’s doing some deep thinking as he lies there smelling a daisy. Blessings to you…

      Like

  10. trisha says:

    only willing ears hear god.

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

