Funnel Clouds Dancing – Yikes

Tornado watches meant little to me. Warnings moved me more, making me watchful. This season of multitudinous, vicious storms has changed my attitude. Last night when I heard that funnel clouds were dancing the hokey pokey in the skies around Dallas, I took notice. Our living room and bedroom have windows that stretch almost from the floors all the way to the ceilings on the outside walls. That’s a lot of glass when you think about a tornado sweeping in. I love our second-story view of the treetops swaying in the wind and the light from these windows. Last night I wished they were strong walls.

My husband and I (and Shady the cat) joined other residents on the first floor in the TV room for a few hours, waiting for these wannabe tornadoes to fizzle out. Finally, the tornado warnings ended. We went to bed.

Severe storms apparently visited us during the night, and in the morning a friend knocked on our door to tell me that I needed to come down to the parking lot with my broom and dust pan. A couple of huge hailstones had punctured our rear windshield. I broke out the remaining glass that framed the windshield in case I might have to drive before the repair. What a mess it was to clean up!

My hubby and I are not complaining. Considering the damages and losses that others have sustained from tornadoes this year, we would be ashamed to be anything but thankful.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Thought, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Funnel Clouds Dancing – Yikes

  1. pattisj says:

    I’m so glad you are safe, Carol. I thought of you when I heard Dallas mentioned on the Weather Channel. That’s our tv watching lately, always keeping an eye on what’s happening, and where. Today was a quiet, uneventful day here–a pleasant change. Some of my local FB friends are still without power, and they might not have it back until late tomorrow. Yes, we are very blessed, but I’m sorry you have to deal with that damage to your vehicle. You’re right, it could be much worse. Blessings to you.

    Like

    • Thank you, Patti. I appreciate your visit and comments. When we lived in Florida, we experienced a couple of hurricanes that were significant. We were without power for four days. I thought I would perish from such a trial. Believe me that I didn’t think of it a an inconvenience. I was miserable. (I’m a sissy, yes.) I feel very sorry for those suffering without power for any length of time. No refrigeration, spoiling food to deal with, no light at all in rooms without windows, nighttime is a nightmare; and in the summer in Florida, or any warm climate, no AC means stifling heat and humidity. I spent the four days trying to find a way to get a generator. Thanks to God, I didn’t find one. Duh. He knew it wasn’t what we needed. Blessings to you, Patti…

      Like

  2. suzicate says:

    So sorry about the damages to your car. Hailstorms can be very dangerous and damaging. Even when we incur damages, we know we are fortunate that it could have been worse. Blessings to you.

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by and thank you for your wise comment. I’ve never experienced hail before that was so large. One man brought in a hailstone as big as an egg during our waiting time for the warnings to lift. It was probably one of those big ones that broke our windshield. There were others in our parking lot that had broken glass in their cars as well. We are thankful for God’s mercy. Yes, it could have been disastrous. Blessings to you, Suzi…

      Like

  3. JoDee Luna says:

    I’m terrified of tornadoes. How do you stay so brave?

    Like

    • I don’t think I was brave. I’d have run if possible, but of course, that wasn’t an option. I don’t remember when I lived in Ohio and Michigan having tornadoes attack in groups. Maybe they did and I’ve forgotten. Or, maybe forecasters have learned so much more since then that they are aware of multiple funnel clouds forming and dancing in the air. I see it as a disturbing circumstance. Like everyone, I wait and hope for the best, knowing that God is good. I pray that His blessings on those touched by tragedies will overflow. My heart goes out to them. Blessings to you, JoDee…

      Like

  4. jacsprat says:

    I’m glad you’re safe! It’s an encouragement to see that you’re still praising God in the storms (literally!!).

    Like

    • It is a comfort to me that God is with us in the storms of life. I don’t say that he sends them, but He allows storms or they couldn’t happen. Maybe He sends some of them. The Bible indicates at times that He has sent storms or famine or drought for a purifying purpose. You won’t ever hear of me asking the LORD to send me a purifying storm. Yet, I praise Him, because God is good. Blessings to you…

      Like

  5. Keli Gwyn says:

    I’m glad you weren’t affected by the tornadoes, but I’m sorry about the damage from the hailstones. Thankfully it was minimal. Like you, I feel for those who’ve suffered devastating losses.

    Like

    • Thank you for visiting, Keli. I appreciate your stopping by and your kind comment. We are thankful that our damage was minimal. We also feel for so many that have experienced pain, loss, and disappointment caused by these unusually harsh storms. May they be blessed richly for having endured such trouble. Blessings to you…

      Like

  6. gloryteller says:

    Texans, Oklahomans, Kansans, Missourians, Arkansans,Mississippians, Alabamans —
    It’s been rough, but the Bible reminds us:
    God is with us, what do we have to fear?
    “No storm from hell, no scheme of man
    Can ever pluck us from His hand.” (The Gettys)
    Still , Let’s keep on praying, against the pain and loss that precedes Paradise.
    Glad you’re relatively ok, C. A. and thanks for your post.
    May His peace be with y’all,
    Your Arkansas Bro

    Like

    • Welcome, my Arkansas Bro! Thank you for stopping by.

      I’ve heard about Tornado Alley. I don’t know if Texas is in it or not, but tornadoes can strike even places outside the most likely areas. Florida is known for hurricanes, but a few devastating tornadoes rocked the area where we lived. We were not personally affected, but one tornado wiped out an entire village! There were only a few fatalities, but still, the mobiles homes were pretty much flattened and tossed, leaving many homeless.

      In this life, were it not for our confidence in God’s mercy and care, what hope would we have? Jesus is the difference between hope and despair.

      Thank you for your comment, Len. I appreciate your spreading cheer and wisdom here. Blessings to you, Bro…

      Like

  7. JannatWrites says:

    Tornadoes scare me. It’s been sad to see all of the damage that has happened in the last few weeks. It’s a hassle to get the window fixed, but at least you are okay.

    Like

    • I agree with you, Janna. I thank God that getting the window fixed is not a dire circumstance for us. We can manage it. Even if it were, I know how very fortunate we are any time a storm passes over without hurting people. I agree that tornadoes are scary, like having a wasp in your hair! Blessings to you, Janna…

      Like

  8. flyinggma says:

    Oh Carol…Sorry you had to deal with the broken window. There are many companies that will come right to your home to replace the glass. I hope you can find one of them to fix it for you soon.

    Like

    • Thank you, Jeanne. I appreciate your kind comment. We have a repair person coming out here on Saturday to repair the windshield. For the meantime I have taped plastic over it to keep out rain, if it should come. As I went outside to tackle the job, I prayed that if I needed help, God would provide it. As I was struggling to tape my trash bag over the gaping hole, a lady I’ve never met before came over to me with better tape and a better bag. She was also taller than I and could reach where I couldn’t. She pretty much changed my tattered mess into success. Blessings to you, Jeanne…

      Like

  9. Tracy says:

    Wow, that must have been some big hail to smash a car window! Was is baseball size? In comparision to what some others are facing, glad the damage was limited to something that is fixable. Mother Nature is showing us all over the world that she’s in charge…and we need to be mindful of forces more powerful than our own. Hope the repair was painless…and that your insurance kicked in.

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by and for your comment. I appreciate your taking time to visit. I didn’t see the hail myself. I’m not sure if it happened during the time we were experiencing hail and watching for tornadoes or if it happened from another storm during the night. The storms continued after we went to bed. I didn’t venture outside until morning, and there it was, a huge hole that I showed in my post. On the other side was another smaller hole. Probably the hailstone that made the gaping hole was fairly large. We have a deductible for comprehensive, so we will have to pay for it, but it could have been a lot worse. The cost was slightly less than our deductible. Blessings to you, Tracy…

      Like

  10. Patricia says:

    When I lived in Ohio we had lots of tornados and now that I live in the south there have been hurricanes. Of the two I think huricanes are less scary because there is warning and time to prepare or leave. With a tornado it is on you before you know it. Very little time to get to safety.

    It is wonderful that the only damage for you was a car window. Windows can be replaced with little difficulty.

    Like

    • I lived in Ohio, too. I agree that tornadoes are more vicious in character. Even though they don’t cut as wide a swath as a hurricane, the damage is almost always devastating wherever a tornado swoops down. With a tornado, there is a very short warning period; exactly where one will touch down is unknown until the moment it strikes. This causes people to wait until they hear the storm roar to take cover. On the other hand, the hurricane has the potential to devastate a very large land mass, while the tornado’s target area is generally less extensive. Both storms are scary.

      We feel very grateful that the tornadoes that were in the skies around us did not touch down. The hailstones came from a severe storm. We went shopping today with the gaping windshield gap wrapped in a huge, make-shift bandage. Cool!

      Thanks for stopping by and for your comment. Blessings to you, Patricia…

      Like

  11. planejaner says:

    And we worship this God of storms and thunder! He rules over it all, in glorious majesty–

    I am happy you and your husband made it through ok…

    I pray God will be glorified through the sadness, rubble…and rebuilding. That those who already know Him might sing His praises–happy or sad.

    blessings
    jane

    Like

    • God is good. The dancing funnel clouds went elsewhere or up in the air. We were not hit. A hailstone crashed through our windshield. Many have suffered much loss and damage by tornadoes this season. I, too, pray with you that God will be glorified in the rebuilding of property and lives.

      Thank you for your visit and your comment. We worship the God of storms and thunder! I like that. Yes, He rules! He heals the broken hearted and gives hope and a future. Blessings to you, Jane.

      Like

  12. I am so thankful that no one was hurt! Tornado season can be very unnerving; I’m glad you and yours had a safe place to go while waiting for the danger to pass.
    Blessings to you!
    Jennifer

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by, Jennifer. I appreciate your comment. We were moved to find that safe place. We should never take storm warnings lightly, but we were more serious about finding shelter this season. All that we’ve seen on the news has made us more aware of the danger. Blessings to you…

      Like

  13. doforyou says:

    Oh my gosh! Thank goodness that’s all the damage you guys got. I don’t know about you, but I’m about done with the storms this spring. They are exhausting!!

    Like

    • I agree on both counts. I’m weary of storms, not only the ones here, but all of them, and I am very glad the only damage we had was a windshield.

      Thanks for stopping by and for your comment. Blessings to you…

      Like

  14. lesliepaints says:

    I am sorry to hear of your broken windshield, Carol, but glad you were safe in your abode throughout those storms.

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by and for your comment, Leslie. We are grateful that nothing serious happened that night. The windshield was replaced this morning. All is well. Blessings to you…

      Like

  15. Carol Ann, I’m glad you and your husband were safe through the storm. I hope the damage to your car is quickly repaired.

    Seeing the devastation the tornadoes and flooding have caused is heartbreaking, and I’m praying this stormy season will end quickly.

    Like

    • The windshield was replaced this morning. We are praying for the end of this storm season and for help and healing for those injured or suffering losses. Thank you for stopping by, Carol, and for your comment. Blessings to you…

      Like

  16. Laura Best says:

    I feel so fortunate that we don’t as a rule have to think about such things here in Nova Scotia, but my heart goes out to all those who have been affected by them. You were very fortunate, Carol Ann. So glad it wasn’t much worse.

    Like

    • Yes, it could have been much worse. We are very grateful to continue on with life as it was except for such small damage. Our windshield has been repaired. Thank you for taking time to stop by and for your kind comment. Blessings to you, Laura…

      Like

  17. Glad you are okay. God is our refuge and our strength a very present help in trouble.

    Like

  18. So glad you are safe my friend. How frightening that the winds are causing such destruction to so many. No wonder you were afraid with those glass walls you have…

    Stay blessed!! Stay safe xx

    Like

    • We are SO thankful that all we had to do was fix a windshield. I have never been so attentive when I hear storm warnings as I have been this season for obvious reasons. My heart goes out to the many who have suffered so much.

      Thank you for stopping by and for your kind comment. Blessings to you, Chloe…

      Like

  19. trisha says:

    thank god that you are alright my dear sweet friend.

    god is loving, kind and sweet.

    lots of love.

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

