Thank You LORD For Sanctuary

Thank you LORD for this season of time
This resting place – this interval
Of grace – this refuge You set
For us – this quiet nest – this

Sanctuary – this recess to reflect
To recoup – recharge –  regret –
To rejoice – contemplate and plan
To meditate – concentrate and rest

A period to draw near our God
A space to seek Your face – to worship
And praise – to discover our sweet
Spot and possess it LORD

We wait for You – we’re watching LORD
In the stillness of Sanctuary – we
Pause – we offer You all because
You own us – LORD of all

You bought us with your blood that day
You showed Yourself to us
You won our loyalty – our trust
For You we join the fray

What are the stakes – what the outlay –
Give us treasure to invest
Help us pass the test
Let us live our faith

By Carol Ann Hoel © May 9, 2011

____________________________

Note: I accidentally clicked the publish button before I was finished revising. This is the completed version without some of the photos that seemed to detract from the message. The wording is different, too, in some places. I apologize for my crazy clicking fingers.

Romans 12:1-8 – The Bible (NIV) – Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you. For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith; if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead, do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.

Ephesians 2:8-10 – The Bible (NIV) – For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God—not by works, so that no one can boast. For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

Mark 16:15-16 – The Bible (NIV) – He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation. Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Thank You LORD For Sanctuary

  1. jannatwrites says:

    The last two lines are the perfect ending to this poem:
    Help us pass the test
    Let us live our faith

    I am thankful for Jesus’ sacrifice, but I need the Lord’s help to keep me strong and on the right track. Worship is so important!

    Like

    • I need His help, too, Janna. If I am to walk, He must lead. Whatever I want to do, without Him, I can’t do it. You are right about worship, too. It is vital to our faith.

      Thank you for your encouraging comment. I appreciate your taking time to stop by. Blessings to you…

      Like

  2. pattisj says:

    We get so busy, even in doing good, that when we get a time of rest we don’t know how to act, and feel like we need to be doing something. Oh, to be still and know that He is God! We need to ‘be,’ not ‘do’ all the time. May we rest well in Him when we have the opportunity.

    Like

  3. I’ve always wondered why eagles and such build nests so high up in places. When thelittle ones get kicked to to fly, if they don’t know how, it sure is a long way down.

    Like

    • Yes, it is a long way down. I don’t know the reason, really, but it gives them a little more time to flap those wings before hitting the ground.

      I really struggled to find photos for this one. Then I hit publish by mistake before I was any where near being finished. I didn’t like two of the photos that I had tried out. Did you ever hit publish accidentally? Mind boggling. What to do! I really made a mess for myself. Blessings to you, Carl…

      Like

  4. flyinggma says:

    I love the thought of a sanctuary this morning Carol. Yesterday was such a busy day. A hiding place for rest would have been a welcome sight. A place I would run to and not want to leave. Blessings to you this day Carol.

    Like

    • Thank you, Jeanne. I am glad you made it through your busy day. I appreciate your comment. I think my husband and I are in a sanctuary time of our lives after a long struggle. I’d like to think life will always be settled and peaceful from now on, but this has not been my experience throughout the years, nor is it likely with Alzheimer’s. God provides space for recuperation and rest after struggles. A time to prepare for more of life. God is good and sustains us always. Blessings to you, Jeanne…

      Like

  5. Bonnie says:

    Your poetry is always amazingly beautiful and clear, Carol Ann. Thanks for another beautiful reminder of what’s real and true. Blessings to you.

    Like

  6. elizabethre says:

    The spiritual act of worship is such a blessing. Thanks for reminding me of that.

    Like

  7. trisha says:

    this is so very beautiful carol, beautiful and full of hope, peace.

    lots of love.

    Like

  8. I’m grateful for both the sanctuary I can find in God and also in the wonderful home that I live in which provides me safety and warmth and also escape from the world! A lovely poem Carol xx

    Like

    • Thank you for your visit and for your comment, Chloe. I, too, experience the safety of refuge in having a home. We are blessed so much. I thank God for all His provision for us. Blessings to you, always…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

