Laughter Therapy


If anyone needs to heed advice

To lighten up – I am
The one – Whatever I do
That requires concentrated
Effort causes me to
Stress – so I confess
 

God has put me on laughter

Therapy to heal my stressful
Moments – I laugh easily
When I’m not stressed out –
But when I AM stressed out –
Rather than laugh – I may shout
 
Therapy has begun  already –
I’m cooking and looking through
Cupboards one by one –
Stressing as I go – and God
Says to me – Keep going –
You’ll run into it –
 
This stops me in my tracks –
No – I don’t hear
An audible voice –
But I believe I know Who
Says these words to me –
LORD – it’s YOU
 
Suddenly I realize
I have no clue what
I’m looking for –
I stop long enough
To think it through
It’s not funny LORD –
 
Says the LORD – I’m
Laughing – so why don’t you –
I smile and ask politely
What am I looking for –
Salt – You’re right –
It’s in the very next one

By Carol Ann Hoel © May 2, 2011

I have no proof that God said this to me, so believe it or not. It’s up to you. I often believe that God laughs at me and with me. He is a wonderful companion. His sense of humor is sharp and yet full of warmth and love. He cracks me up when I least expect it.

I don’t mean that God looks at sin lightly, but in calling my attention to something, he often uses humor with me. The LORD gets me to laugh at myself and to see how silly I am acting. Does anyone else experience this knowing inside that God is laughing while getting your attention?

__________________________________

Proverbs 15:15 – The Bible (KJV) – All the days of the afflicted are evil: but he that is of a merry heart hath a continual feast.

Proverbs 17:22 – The Bible (KJV) – A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit dries the bones.

Psalm 126:1-3 – The Bible (KJV) – When the LORD turned again the captivity of Zion, we were like them that dream. Then was our mouth filled with laughter, and our tongue with singing: then said they among the heathen, The LORD hath done great things for them. The LORD hath done great things for us; whereof we are glad.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Laughter Therapy

  1. Certainly God laughs. Every time I make long range plans. Or when I think I’ll never need a grave marker.

    Like

  2. jannatwrites says:

    I’m sure God must laugh. If he didn’t, the stress of His disobedient people would push Him over the edge. Laughter does have a way of neutralizing stress.

    Like

    • You said it just right, Janna. Laughter neutralizes stress. It did for me on that day. My stress disappeared with laughter. I cooked the rest of our dinner with a smile on my face. Thank you for stopping by and for your comment. Blessings to you…

      Like

  3. trisha says:

    this is sweet, funny and true. if we calm down stress vanishes, and nothing calms us like God.

    Like

    • Thank you for your sweet comment. Nothing calms us like God. You have said the truth. When we know that our LORD is close and powerful, what can make us worry? Blessings to you, Trisha…

      Like

      • trisha says:

        thats the sweetest truth we can realize. you know what i believe, i believe we all live inside same God.

        we cause ourselves pain when we forget this.

        lots of love

        Like

      • You are right again, Trisha. Jesus is LORD of LORD, KING of KINGS, according to the Word of God. There is only one God. Blessings to you…

        Like

  4. ladynimue says:

    This is so sweet and true .. if only we could smile at all he does fr us .. he does it best after all !

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by and for your comment.

      I like the way you put it – if only we could smile for all he does for us. There is a Psalm that says the same thing – if only mankind would praise the Lord for all his wonderful works to the children of men. Blessing to you, ladynimue…

      Like

  5. Bonnie says:

    I absolutely believe the Lord has a sense of humor. What he must see on a daily basis is unfathomable. 🙂 Blessings to you, Carol Ann.

    Like

  6. planejaner says:

    If God didn’t have a sense of humor…how could we love Him? I know He must…because we do, and we are made in His image…

    how He must chuckle at us, like toddlers, doing the same things, over and over…

    blessings
    jane

    Like

  7. elizabethre says:

    Carol Ann, I believe He has a wonderful sense of humor. I’m pretty sure He heaves with laughter every time I ask for the gift of patience 🙂

    Like

    • I feel that he laughs at me often when I do things that make no sense. It seems that he nudges me, and I sense a smile on his face, and imagine that he rolls his eyes to let me know I need to shape up. Thanks for stopping by and for your comment. Blessings to you, Elizabeth…

      Like

  8. pattisj says:

    I have learned when I need to find something, to ask, because He knows where everything is (or what I came in this room looking for). How many times has He sat, with his chin in His palm, shaking His head back and forth, thinking, “You have not, because you ask not.”
    Matthew 18:3 speaks of becoming like children. If you are around children very long, you will hear much laughter.

    Like

    • You are so right, Patti. When I can’t find something, I will always ask the LORD to show me where it is. Sometimes I look way too long before I think to ask. I love all the encouragement I’m getting on God’s sense of humor. Thank you for stopping by and for your wise comment. Blessings to you…

      Like

  9. Patricia says:

    I Think God is the one who teaches us to laugh–so He must know how to do it Himself. He is probably an awesome laugher.

    Oh, And I like the cats!

    Like

    • Thank you, Patricia. I’m glad that everyone commenting agrees that God laughs. You have added even more insight. Of course, where else did we learn to laugh but from our Creator. He made us in His image; thus, like Him, we laugh! Thanks for stopping by and for your comment. Blessings to you…

      Like

  10. lesliepaints says:

    Of course God laughs…just look at us. 🙂

    Like

  11. I share you belief that God has a sense of humour – and I believe he wants us to look at life through smiling eyes, as I’m sure he does. I believe laughter is really one of the best medicines! Chloe xx

    Like

  12. Dare Right says:

    It’s nice, and comforting somehow, to think of God laughing. Great post, Carol Ann!

    Also, I wanted to let you know that I have an award for you, I hope you like it!
    http://goinggoalward.wordpress.com/2011/05/03/versatile-blogger-award/

    Like

  13. nrhatch says:

    I enjoy God’s sense of humor on a regular basis. If God did not have a sense of humor, we would not have zebras . . . or giraffes . . . or cats! 😀

    I don’t know if you follow Mirth and Motivation. If you don’t, I expect that you would enjoy this post:
    http://eof737.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/grace-seeking-balance-in-all-things/

    Peace!

    Like

  14. flyinggma says:

    I believe that God truly has a sense of humor.

    I’m with Sarah when it comes to laughter regarding children in old age. I know it was the fulfillment of His promise but I know I would have laughed right along with Sarah if it were me and then I would probably sit down and cry at the thought of how tired I am at the end of the day.

    I love to see happy people and those sharing laughter.

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by, Jeanne. Your comment assures me that God has a sense of humor. Perhaps giving birth to Isaac and running after him wore Sarah out. Abraham outlived her, and he was older than she. Isaac’s name means laughter. How fitting. Blessings to you…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

