Midnight Blue – I’m Drawn to You

Midnight blue I’m drawn to you
Deep hue of blue – shade of night
Twilight beckons you – cover
Us in blue tonight

Resting beneath a starry bedspread
Imbued with hope in peaceful blue
Silent night whispers a lullaby –
Her song of midnight blue

. . . . . . . . .


The stars declare Your glory LORD

Brilliantly lighting night for You
Their radiance illuminating darkness
Turning black to blue


The heavens declare Your glory LORD –

Your people – like stars – immersed in You
Snuggle beneath this blanket deep blue
Awaiting morning light


Night and day – day and night – LORD –

Continue unceasing as decreed by you
Morning bright followed by night
Of stunning midnight blue

By Carol Ann Hoel © March 30, 2011

______________________________

Psalm 19 – The Bible – The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork. Day unto day uttereth speech, and night unto night sheweth knowledge. There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard. Their line is gone out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world. In them hath he set a tabernacle for the sun, which is as a bridegroom coming out of his chamber, and rejoiceth as a strong man to run a race. His going forth is from the end of the heaven, and his circuit unto the ends of it: and there is nothing hid from the heat thereof.

The law of the LORD is perfect, converting the soul: the testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple. The statutes of the LORD are right, rejoicing the heart: the commandment of the LORD is pure, enlightening the eyes. The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring for ever: the judgments of the LORD are true and righteous altogether. More to be desired are they than gold, yea, than much fine gold: sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb. Moreover by them is thy servant warned: and in keeping of them there is great reward.

Who can understand his errors? Cleanse thou me from secret faults. Keep back thy servant also from presumptuous sins; let them not have dominion over me: then shall I be upright, and I shall be innocent from the great transgression. Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Midnight Blue – I’m Drawn to You

  1. SuziCate says:

    Beautiful, Carol.

    Like

  2. ladynimue says:

    Nice .. I liked this !

    Like

  3. planejaner says:

    lovely, Carol—
    speaks a deep, deep peace…
    womblike and safe.
    blessings
    jane

    Like

  4. Laura Best says:

    Beautiful words and photos. Thanks for sharing this, Carol Ann.

    Like

  5. pattisj says:

    I could feel the stillness of that starry, starry night. Slumbering neath the midnight blue sky, quilted with stars, enveloped by our loving Creator.

    Like

    • Thank you for such a sweet comment. I like what you said – quilted – slumbering neath the midnight blue sky, quilted with stars, enveloped by our loving Creator. Blessings to you, Patti…

      Like

  6. Here in the desert it seems like you can reach out and touch the heavens at night. The desert truly speaks to the spirit.

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by, Victoria. More and more the mysteries of the desert rouse my curiosity. I can picture in my mind the clear night sky with brightly defined stars hanging barely out of reach. Blessings to you…

      Like

  7. u r the real thing carol. thank u for sharing your joy w us. u r such a pleasure to “be” with. bless.

    Like

  8. “Resting beneath a starry bedspread” !!!!!!!!

    Like

  9. Tammy McLeod says:

    Thanks for posting Psalms 19. I don’t know that I’d read it before but I certainly had not remembered it.

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by, Tammy, and for your comment. Psalm 19 is beautiful, but they all are. I looked for it to show that the heaven’s declare the glory of God, but it says so much more that is wonderful that I included the entire Psalm. Blessings to you…

      Like

  10. trisha says:

    what a poem, full of beauty, peace and devotion. blue and white are my favourite colurs, i can feel the attraction you described in this poem.

    Like

  11. Jamie Dedes says:

    Beautifully executed and illustrated. Relate to this. . .

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

