Don’t You Get It? It’s a Social Thing!

Shady doesn’t speak words, but there are times he makes his message plain. Shady longs for community. I feed Shady at the same time we eat. I place a serving of his special canned feast on his little saucer and set it on his place mat on the floor not far from our table. All of us eat at the same time, but Shady finishes in thirty seconds. Then he comes to the table and respectfully rests one paw on my lap. Without exception. It’s a ritual. Next he moves his paw slowly to the corner of the table. Sometimes I’ll drop a small bit of meat on the floor for him, but usually not. I don’t scold him. I pet him gently on the head and nudge him away. Shady leaves the table. He gets my message.

Several times in an effort to get my message to Shady, after he beings his gentlemanly pleading, I will get up out of my chair and lead him to another room to his personal area. I keep a dish of dry kibbles there. Obviously, I think this is an issue solely about his hunger for food. Shady gives me a message, too. He ignores my message and follows me back to the table.

Today I decide to remind Shady about his dish of kibbles. Shady follows me only half way and turns around. I continue to his kibble dish and put a small serving of kibbles on his saucer and put it back on his place mat in the kitchen. Shady eats the kibbles with delight and returns to the table. Hm. I finally get it! It’s a social thing!

No, I’m not putting Shady’s place mat on the table. He would put his cute little wet nose and his gentlemanly paw in the food! But I understand now. Community. Oneness. Being together with loved ones. Eating together. This is what it’s about. Love.

 

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Cats, Food, Pets, Thought, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Don’t You Get It? It’s a Social Thing!

  1. Shady reminds me of some kitties we have had in our lives. . .very people-oriented and socially active. So much fun. Cats like that are almost always full of what my husband and I refer to as “catanality!.”

    Like

  2. What a lovely post! Made me smile.
    It’s amazing how much mutual communication and understanding there is between people and animals. How is it we can relay messages to each other when we are so different? Truly amazing.
    Our dog has not been educated in the merits of daylight savings time and is demanding her supper right now. Though I understand her perfectly well, I am choosing to ignore her message…

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by. I appreciate your comment. The communication between us and our beloved pets, though mostly body language, is fluent. Dogs and cats make our lives more interesting. We enjoy Shady. Blessings to you…

      Like

  3. trisha says:

    you are such an angel. i think that kittens love to be around human beings. not for food, but for companionship. 🙂

    Like

    • You may be right, Trisha. Cats have an independent spirit, yet they want the companionship of humans. My Shady is a darling. Thank you for your comment. Have a blessed weekend…

      Like

      • Trisha says:

        He looks stunningly handsome. I have never seen a cat with that colour combination, not even in movies or pix.

        Like

      • Yes, Shady is beautiful. He was abandon by his former owners and had to fend for himself against all the feral cats in the area for several months. He was battle scarred and thin before he found us. He approached me boldly so that I new he was used to people. He looked squarely into my eyes and let out the most pitiful groan a cat could make. By his body language, his urgent cry, and the look in his yellow green eyes, I understood his message: “What’s wrong with you humans? Don’t you know you should feed me!” Shady’s been with me ever since. Blessings to you, Trisha…

        Like

      • Trisha says:

        You truly are a beautiful angel, thats why he identified you amongst all the people.

        God bless you. you gave him a life, a home and love.

        he is a real stunner!

        lots of love.

        Like

  4. amanda says:

    Sweet post, Carol Ann.

    I always wanted a cat growing up, and one Christmas my parents told me they would get me one if I did research about cat care, first. Well, I did it, and then some, and then…no cat. Yup, they changed their minds. And, now I’m married to wonderful man…who is allergic to cats. Sometimes, you just can’t win 😉

    Like

    • Aw, that’s too bad. Cat allergies are very common and unpleasant. We have to sacrifice for loved ones, and they are worth it. I’m sure it was a big disappointment to you as a child not to have the promise honored at Christmas. Thank you for visiting and for your comment. Blessings to you, Amanda…

      Like

  5. lbdiamond says:

    Awww, what a cutie patooty!!! I agree, kitties love to be part of the family. Mine will stare at me for hours. Sometimes I wonder if she’s trying to brainwash me, but really she already gets everything she wants, lol!

    Like

    • Thank you for visiting. Shady stares at me, too, with those yellow green eyes. They are mesmerizing. I never thought that he might be wishing he could brainwash me. Ha! Your kitty is cool. Have a blessed weekend…

      Like

  6. Shady is adorable.
    My cats like to be around people, too, though they usually hide from strangers. When I wake up in the mornings there are usually 4 of them on my bed waiting for me to get up and fix breakfast. I have to feed them before I can sit down and drink my coffee or they’ll all climb on the chair with me.

    Like

    • Hello Carol. Thank you for stopping by. Yes, cats will let you know what they want. I tried to break Shady of scratching my chairs by taking him to the sisal pole. If he went to the sisal pole instead of a chair, I’d fed him as a reward. Now he scratches his sisal pole when he wants to eat. Weird, ha? Like your cats, as soon as my feet hit the floor in the morning, Shady races to the sisal pole. Have a blessed weekend…

      Like

  7. Chloe says:

    Shady is simply adorable! Isn’t it fantastic how our pets communicate with us and just want to be a part of what’s going on. And they have every right to be involved, as they are members of the family huh? Like you, I sometimes feed Stormy whilst I am eating…she gets little tit-bits off my plate…but she does not beg. She knows that if she looks cute enough she’ll get a treat anyways! 😀 Have a great day my friend xXx

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

