Housework – The Interruption that Rules

Housework gets in the way of writing, blogging, cooking, relaxing, whatever else there is to do. Today I really want to write, not just any writing; I want to revise my manuscript. But, I should mop the floor. I make up my mind that I’ll start mopping immediately, after which, I’ll write in peace without the nagging thought of unfinished housework.

Breakfast time. I’ll mop after breakfast. I could skip breakfast, but my hubby wouldn’t approve. He’s a sweetie. So I fry bacon and make toast for a tasty sandwich with mayo and a slice of sweet onion. (Not our usual breakfast, but it is good.) I serve coffee, of course.

Oh, I plan to serve pork shoulder with sauerkraut and black eyed peas today! Another slight delay on the mopping. Brown pork in pan, slice onion, put sauerkraut and onion in crock pot. Add browned meat and wine. Plug it in and turn it on. Wash dishes. At this point the morning is half gone.

I sweep the floor first with a broom.  Fluffs of cat hair fly in my face like shadowy ghosts from the underworld, which I chase with the broom and pluck out of the bristles, and walk to the trash. I usually use the vacuum cleaner to suck up the cat hair, but my hubby is watching a preaching service, so I spare him the noise. Do all cats shed constantly? Shady should be bald by now. I could stuff an entire mattress with the hair Shady sheds in a week! (I exaggerate. It’s a writer’s privilege, isn’t it?)

Finally, I fill the bucket will water and add soap. Instead of soapy water in my bucket, I see oil sliding around in the water. I’m confused, but I keep moving. I have things to do! I wash the oil out of the bucket. Next, I wipe the bucket dry with a paper towel. I fill the bucket with water again and reach for the soap. This time I look at the bottle. (Notice the two bottles beside the bucket in my photo.) Well, what do you think? One of the bottles was corn oil, which I kept in the cupboard until the cupboard was full. I use corn oil to season my iron skillet, so I put it under the sink with the cleaning fluids. Mistake! I find the Pine Sol and put some in the bucket and mop the floor.

But I’m not finished. Now it’s time to clean the bucket and the mop. It takes three quarters of an hour to mop the floor and another fifteen minutes to rinse the mop and make the bucket clean again. (Notice the bucket in the photo is clean, and the mop is clean, somewhat.) So now it’s time to write. Frankly, I don’t feel like writing now.

Does anyone else find housework an unwelcome interruption to writing, blogging, cooking, relaxing, and whatever else there is to do?

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Housework – The Interruption that Rules

  1. Well, you know my motto: “A clean house is a sign of a misspent life.”

    Besides, you work and slave and toil to get your house all clean, and then a year or two later you have to do it all over again!

    😀

    Like

    • What a cute motto! “A clean house is a sign of a misspent life.” Ha! It’s true that housecleaning should not rule our lives. I remember avoiding housework when I was a young wife. I finally had to face the fact that I needed to clean or move. Thank you for visiting. Blessings to you…

      Like

  2. planejaner says:

    Carol Ann–
    dratted housework.
    My motto, ingrained on me by my mother:
    “Don’t Should on Yourself!”
    “If it feels like should, don’t do it.”
    🙂
    jane

    Like

  3. Absolutely! Housework is a bothersome necessity of life. It interferes with all the fun things, like writing, reading, staring into space, and walking in the woods on a beautiful day like today. And regarding the shedding problem, yes, cats do shed constantly! I have 5, so you can imagine the fur flying everywhere at our house. We have to use “cat hair rollers,” which I think others call lint removers, before we go anywhere to keep from looking like the Yeti.

    Like

  4. Oh, my my, what would I do without the “cat hair roller”! Yes, I use it constantly. Shady likes to sit on my lap whenever I sit down. I get up with it on my backside and all over my clothing. Shady is a great pet, so we bear with the hair. Thank you for visiting and for your comment. Blessings to you…

    Like

  5. tekia says:

    YEEEEEEESSSSSS!!!! Ugh! I hate when housework gets in the way. All it does it hold me up from doing what I REALLY want to do which is write, blog, etc. Right now as I’m commenting I have to clean my dorm room because I just can’t take it anymore, haha! Needless to say that studying has been holding up the cleaning and the cleaning has been holding up the writing, and the cycle continues. Blah! 🙂 XOXO

    Like

    • Yup. When something inside me says that everything else will work better if I do what I must do first, sure enough, after I finish it, life gets easier to manage. The housework thing is never ending, but when I feel put out about it, I remember how wonderful it is to have a warm and pleasant place to live. Thank you for visiting and for your encouraging comment. May your dorm room project bring you great delight and make your writing free and fruitful! I confess that I spend many days and sometimes weeks talking myself into that kind of a project. The time will come, and you will get it accomplished. Blessings to you, Te’Kia…

      Like

  6. Loved the corn oil mix up- that’s great! And relatively harmless…
    Housecleaning is one of those things that happens around here just before the guests arrive- and often not quite on time. I should start getting guests to help with the housework…

    Like

    • Oh, I do so relate to the guest-coming housecleaning. When I was a young mother and had so much to do, keeping the house clean was more of a challenge than it is now. The holidays forced me to make up for my former lack. Most people, like you, probably did the finer points of housecleaning right before guests arrived. I was really hitting it hard trying to make it sparkle like my mother’s house after letting it get really down. Ha! I think I would change that it I had it to do over, but life is hard for young mothers. I probably wouldn’t do any better the second time around. Thank you for your visit. Blessings to you, Zoe…

      Like

  7. trisha says:

    poor girl! what a silly confusion.

    you reminded me of my experiences of present days. 🙂

    right when i sit down at the computer and open a word document to type one of my kittens show up famished.

    by the time i feed them the themes vanish in thin air.

    i too think cats shed like monsoon rain. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment, Trisha. Cats shed like monsoon rain! How aptly spoken! It’s true that we sit down to write and have to get up to do something, and something else, and when we get back to the computer, the thoughts have been obliterated by the interruption. Obviously, it doesn’t stop your creativeness for long. Your poetry is inspirational and lovely. Blessings to you, Trisha…

      Like

  8. Chloe says:

    Greetings to you my friend. I always smile when I read your blog! Poor you with the corn oil mix up – good job you don’t ever store cleaning items in the food cupboard…. 😀 As for cleaning – I do the usual run round when I know I have guests coming…problem is I rarely have guests. My idea for the New Year is to invite as many people over as possible – not because I am social, but because I need to keep my house cleaner! lol

    Take care my friend, I sincerely hope that your husband’s health has improved.

    Chloe xx

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

