Proverbs 14:4

4Where no oxen are, the crib is clean: but much increase is by the strength of the ox.

I was once asked which Proverbs were my favorites. At that time Proverbs 14:4 had caught my attention and touched my heart, so I included it. I could see that my friends were puzzled and you may be wondering. This verse is not my all-time favorite, but on this day the message of the verse was fresh on my mind.

Reading this verse I pictured an unhappy farmer cleaning the dung off the crib of his oxen, despising the mess they made everyday. These were the same animals that labored long pulling the farmer’s plow. Without the oxen, the crib would have been clean (or empty), but so would be the farmer’s refrigerator or barn or whatever places the harvest replenished each season.

I think this proverb is meant to be taken literally; it’s about oxen and farmers. Still, we may apply the general message to ourselves. People we depend on may cause us some discomfort at times, but we would be wise to honor them and forgive their mistakes.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses, Thought and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Proverbs 14:4

  1. Jingle says:

    I love proverbs, they are divine.

    beautiful choices.

    xx

    Like

    • I, too, love proverbs. When I don’t know what I should read, I read proverbs. There is so much in them that eventually I find what I need to make my day better. I enjoy your poetry. You have your own delightfully unique style that says Jingle. Blessings to you…

      Like

  2. tekia says:

    You are so very right! thank you for this bit of wisdom Carol. It just goes to show that some versus are very short but pack a lot of meaning in it when the Spirit shows you what is meant by it. Thanks for sharing 😉

    Like

  3. A lot of wisdom in that proverb, Carol. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it.

    Like

  4. trisha says:

    This is a priceless proverb carol. if we gracefully accept that we will have to give something in return of every thing we receive- life becomes more beautiful.

    Like

  5. marchmommie7 says:

    I’ve never really sat and thought about this proverb but I love it! Thanks for calling it to my attention. It’s so true. It reminds me of the hard and thankless work people often do that is unrecognized. It reminds me how people have to work together and be grateful for each person they work with no matter how insignificant they think their job might be. Thanks for sharing this. I highlighted it in my Bible!

    Like

    • Thank you, Lorena Jo. I appreciate your visit and your kind words. God’s Word is packed with truth. I get excited when I read something I’ve read many times before, yet God shows me something about it I hadn’t noticed before. Your Bible commentaries are encouraging. Thank you for sharing, also. Blessings to you…

      Like

Please share your thoughts...

