Waiting for the Promise

I ask you LORD
For a precious gift
I wait for your answer
For many long years

You change me much
Make me grow and yet
I wait for your answer
Still waiting still want

I see your hand
Touching their dear hearts
The souls of them I beg
For many long years

I see the day
Coming closer now
I wait for your answer
Still waiting still want

I praise you more
Watching still waiting
Each day they draw nearer
Your promise you’ll keep

I ask you LORD
For a precious gift
I wait for your answer
For many long years

The Bible 2 Peter 3:8-9 – But, beloved, be not ignorant of this one thing, that one day is with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day. The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.

The Bible Matthew 7:7 – Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you:

(LAUGHING OPPORTUNITY HERE: Be patient, the smile will come)
A preacher expounded the meaning of the above two passages. He explained: The way God looks at time is different from the way we look at time. A thousand years to God is like a day and a day like a thousand years.  Time is not an eternal concept. Think about this, the preacher said. What is eternity? Eternity never began and never ends. Eternity is timeless. The second passage the preacher said was easy to understand. God promises that if we ask, seek, or knock, in faith, we are promised a response from God.

*Then the preacher told a story (not a Bible story). He said:

A certain man after hearing these verses prayed:

God, please give me a new sports car.

God answered him back:

Sure. Just wait a minute.

Did you get it? It took me a minute or maybe a hundred years. Ha!

The verses in 2 Peter are additional verses referring to the Rapture (the secret coming of Christ when he calls believers out of this world before the Tribulation Period begins) and/or the Second Coming of Christ (public coming – when every eye shall see him). The verses refer to either appearance, but the rapture occurs first. For more on the Rapture go to The Clock Strikes https://cah4el.wordpress.com/2010/10/14/the-clock%C2%A0strikes/.

*I am not the author of the anecdote about the sports car. I heard it told by a preacher, possibly my own pastor. I repeated it the best I could remember it.

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses, Humor, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Waiting for the Promise

  1. planejaner says:

    sweet…funny…smiles and longing…
    thanks for your post today.
    jane
    p.s. have you been to smalltownbiglife’s blog? I think you will enjoy/be uplifted by/appreciate her writing…
    http://smalltownbiglife.wordpress.com/

    Like

    • Thank you, Jane, for visiting and for your comment. I clicked the link and visited this blog. I read the post on prayer and commented. You are right. I will enjoy this blog. Blessings to you…

      Like

  2. buttercup600 says:

    I always believe that all good things comes to those who wait…if it’s not meant to be…He always knows better. Great write my friend….laughed about the car posting 🙂 Love you my sweet friend xxx

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

