Sleep Deep

Dreams
The lucid ones
What are they

A mystery
A message
An encounter

A comfort
A warning
An embrace

A phone call
A meeting that
Fails to happen


A movie

And you’re a player
In harm’s way

You wake up
And know it was
Something

From another world
A dream walk in
Your other life

A mystery
A message
An encounter

A dream
Go back to sleep
Sleep deep

By Carol Ann Hoel © October 18, 2010

Psalm 4:8 (The Bible)
I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, LORD, only makest me dwell in safety.

 

About Carol Ann Hoel

The new me - Carol Ann. More suitably said, the old me in new circumstances of life. Again. My history has developed in parts and chapters. In person, I am Wife, Mom, Grandma, Author, and Writer, in that order, more or less. Life is good because God is good.
This entry was posted in Bible Verses, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sleep Deep

  1. lbdiamond says:

    Awwww, cute kitty!

    I love dreaming… 😀

    Like

    • I don’t know why we dream or what dreams mean, but I think about them. I often remember vividly the dreams I have in early morning. When my mother died of cancer, I had a recurring dream that she was in a helicopter flying overhead, and I knew the helicopter was crashing, but couldn’t stop it. I eventually quit dreaming of her that way as sweet memories of her life replaced the memory of her swift journey toward death.

      Like

  2. Bonnie says:

    Beautiful poem, Carol Ann. I too love dreams – sometimes they mean something, others not. Your poem greatly details just how far they can stretch the mind.

    Like

  3. buttercup600 says:

    A mastery of so very true phrases you have weaved so perfectly my friend. Love the images to compliment…Ms Poet 🙂 🙂 Mwah xxx

    Like

    • I rejoice to see your visits! You make such nice comments. I do also enjoy your poetry and artwork. Your videos make my morning stroll through blog land more pleasurable. Blessings to you…

      Like

  4. Dreams, one of my favorite topics. It often seems they are more than just our subconscious sorting through recent thoughts and worries. You captured their mystery well.

    Like

  5. tekia says:

    Dreams can sometimes be very strange, very informing or nothing at all. This is a very lulling poem carol. Great work!

    Like

  6. trisha says:

    I share your feelings, i too often wonder what are they!

    Like

    • Yes, dreams are very mysterious. In Bible history God spoke to some of his servants in dreams. Now we have the Bible, the Word of God, and all that we need to know is in this book. Yet, I wonder sometimes if some dreams are sweet messages or timely warnings from on high. I don’t know. Dreams remain a mystery for me and they fascinate me. If I have a bad one, that we call a nightmare, I don’t let it frighten me. I cast it aside because fear is not from Jesus. Blessings to you…

      Like

  7. mairmusic says:

    An interesting musing on to sleep, perchance to dream…

    Like

Please share your thoughts...

